Big Quartz Stone At The Bay!

in #photography5 years ago

DSCF3596.JPG

I was walking the other day at the bay when I saw a weird huge rock. When I got near I couldn't believe my eyes! It was a huge quartz stone!

DSCF3585.JPG

The rock was big and heavy, I dare to say it weight like 100lbs or more and it was surrounded by all type of plants, ants and hermit crabs.

DSCF3594.JPG

The enormous quartz was all carved, it was obvious people is going and taking chunks of it...

DSCF3592.JPG

I didn't wanted to keep harming the quartz so I started to see if a nice piece of the crystal was near the place but no, all was too tiny. I have no idea of what type quartz is this one... some parts looks white other clear and other kind of yellow...

DSCF3595.JPG

I was amazed of how beautiful the rock is and also the greed of people. I bet that stone was way more bigger but thanks to people soon it will disappear! Look how beautiful those tiny pieces of quartz looks mixed with sand, sea crystals, tiny hermit crabs and sea shells!

DSCF3593.JPG

I left the place regretting not being able to found a nice piece of crystal to take home. Next time I go there I will see if I'm lucky enough to find a nice piece! I wonder if there's a geologist here that can she some light about what type of quartz is this. I know @azircon is geologist but he's in steemit vacays....



videotogif_2018.10.30_18.00.11.gif

lux.gif

blacklux_blue.png

Vote for @qurator as a Witness HERE
Just type qurator in the box!
IMG_20181022_181136.jpg

Sort:  

@blacklux that is a beautiful chunk of crystals or quartz, @solominer might know what it is.

@myjob looks like something with iron due to its color. great find @blacklux

@solominer I knew you were the one to ask. thanks

What a great find! I love rocks but sadly I know little about them. I hope you find a nice piece to take home. It's too bad that other people aren't as respectful!

I touched the tiny pieces of crystal, they felt very light like if they were empty... it was like touching a piece of empty plastic. it was weird hehehe

I think it is actually a big piece of calcite

Hmmm... Dunno, it looks like quartz but it felt too light when I grabbed some pieces. Where are the geologists when you need them?! 😅

You got a 6.29% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blacklux! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Yaaay! Thanks a lot!

Howdy blacklux! that's quite a nice find, I'm surprised it's still there. Well, I guess I don't know if it's still there but if it is I bet it shrinks by the day as people hack away at it for the crystal pieces. It's an interesting rock though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24