The Monolith: When Movies Become Real

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_20190907_201602.jpg

Have you ever experienced a "the shit got real" moment? I do! All the time to be sincere... too much actually... but we're not talking about my weird life, right?! ...

The other day I was at the bay hunting down some rocks, y'all know that's my new hobby, and that's when I saw it. A monolith! I stood there seeing the rectangular stone thinking how cool was to find a stone with that shape when it hit me, flashes from the movie 2001 A Space Odyssey bitch slapped me hard and in my head all I was hearing was the movie song...


For the people that never saw 2001 A Space Odyssey, is an old movie (made in 1968) about a monolith, higher intelligence (of course not human), a crazy computer called Hal and the search of the human kind to reach knowledge. In that movie the monolith traveled through time and space, visiting galaxies and our planet in several times. The monolith was a witness of creation and our development as a race and also a fountain of indescribable knowledge and wisdom. Like always, humans sent people to get and understand the monolith and lots of weird things happened like the psycho computer named Hal that basically killed almost the entire tripulation of the spaceship.

DSCF3698-01.jpeg

The first time I saw that movie I was a teenager and got hooked with the hole monolith thing, the higher wisdom and the psycho computer... whaaat?! It was a psycho computer but at the same time was cool! So when I saw the tiny "monolith" rock I knew it, the movie was right! We're not alone, aliens wants to teach us the truth about the universe and our existence and wants to use the mysterious monolith to show us that truth... which is probably that computers will reach a point they gonna think by themselves and kill us like Hal did in the movie.

Do I really believe all the shit I just wrote? Pffffr nope buuut sound so cool and weird and you have to admit that rock looks like a monolith and 2001 A Space Odyssey movie is awesome no matter how old it is! Now if you excuse me I'm gonna watch the movie again.


This pic is my entry for #monomad challenge by @monochromes


Did you hear? @monochromes have a discord server! Wanna join the best B&W photo community? Here's the link!
https://discord.gg/YhpBF8

videotogif_2018.10.30_18.00.11.gif

lux.gif

blacklux_blue.png

Vote for @qurator as a Witness HERE
Just type qurator in the box!
IMG_20181022_181136.jpg

Sort:  

¡Qué peligro!. Si te encuentras una quijada, no te pienses que es una maza, que así empezó la carrera de armamentos...

Ay mi madre! Que he encontrao algo peor! Los discos de los frenos de un coche! Que alguien va sin frenos por ahi!! jajajja

Hi, @blacklux!

You just got a 7.82% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

nope, never saw any movie called monolith

The monolith was part of the movie. The name of the movie is 2001 A Space Odyssey. Is a really good movie!

The stones are alive, they are just very slow. They see a lot and remember a lot. And in space, they can travel without a ship and a spacesuit. These are universal life forms :-)

True, they doesn't need oxygen to live so they can exist in any atmosphere

Congratulations @blacklux! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Nuevamente, reiteró estas LOOOOOOCAAAAAA. Una película del siglo 6! Quien ve eso en este siglo? 😜 Que edad realmente tienes?! 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Siglo 6?! Pero si la hicieron en el 1968!!! Es una pelicula que estaba adelantada a sus tiempos, muy buena. Y no, no soy tan mayor, cuando hicieron esa pelicula nisiquiera mis padres se conocian jejeje

😬🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Might should start preparing for the computer-apocalypse now. Actually, you are watching the movie, that probably covers it :)

Have you seen the movie? Is really good, it have a deep meaning... I miss movies with deep meanings! Nowadays movies are about FX and superheroes, all action and zero meaning or message. Bah!

lol! Did you take that monolith home?

Nooo, I don't want aliens to hunt me down cause I took their monolith!

lol..dang, I thought that was a cool one to take. Are you collecting rocks or just hunting them?

Mostly hunt, I just enjoy finding cool rocks.

And obelisks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83