Borran's Nature Photography: Bloodsuckers

in #photography5 years ago
So, I bumped into this creature the other day. At first, I thought it was an eel but it's not. This is some kind of leech. Fascinating creatures even though they are also quite disgusting. It's not so often you see these fellows anymore, so it was a nice experience.
Did you know, that medicinal leeches are used in some cases to save transplanted body parts with poor circulation, particularly in finger reattachment and reconstructive surgery of the ear, nose, lip, and eyelid?
I'm not so sure if I would like to have these creatures on my body!
I mean, look at them!

DSCN1879.JPG
I believe this is not a medicinal leech, I think it's a horse-leech.

DSCN1877.JPG
Horse-leech, Haemopis sanguisuga.
DSCN1875.JPG

DSCN1880.JPG


My latest photography posts:

Borran's Nature Photography: Nature Around Us

Borran's Nature Photography: Our Beloved Nature

Borran's Nature Photography: Birds of the Animal Kingdom

Borran's Nature Photography: Archipelago Part #2


I love nature photography. I regularly post nature photos taken by me, wherever I happen to be. If you have similar interests, be sure to follow me here on steemit!

Shot with: Nikon Coolpix P530/Nikkor 42X Wide Optical Zoom 4.3-180mm f/3-5.9.


I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

You got a 10.77% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @borran! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73