Teaching photography in my class with a little help from Steemit

in #photography6 years ago

This week I taught one of the most fun lessons that I have taught in the last little while. I did something I never thought I would be able to do in my classroom. I was able to bring a little of my Steemit world to my students. Last year I started teaching basic photography to my students. It went so well that I decided to teach the photography unit again this spring.


Pixabay

In my short time here on Steemit, I have had the opportunity to enjoy so many different types of content. One of the genres that I have enjoyed most is photography. There is a very large photography community here on Steemit and I have become a follower of several different bloggers who regularly post high-quality pictures. I have never personally been an avid photographer but I have always enjoyed looking at good pictures. There is something about seeing the perspectives that can be created through someone's lens. I really like the way that I can be forced or encouraged to see something from a different aspect. Photographs can be as much about creating images as they are about capturing images.


Pixabay

My goal when teaching photography to my students is to have them learn about some of the different elements of photography. I do this by introducing them to and discussing various elements such as lighting and composition and texture. We follow this up with an examination of some different examples of pictures where that element play a key role and then the students attempt to take pictures of their own focusing on that element.

Related image
Source

This year the examples I used came straight from the Steem blockchain. I have been so impressed with some of the photography that I have seen here in Steemit that I had to find a way to show it to my students to demonstrate what great photography looked like. One of the first photographers I started following here in Steemit is @velimir. Velimir is a blogger from Croatia who specializes in photography and stories of his motorcycle travels. I have always enjoyed the uniqueness and creativity of the pictures he posts. I would highly encourage you to check out his page if you have not done so yet.


My Image

A few weeks ago I contacted @velimir and asked his permission to show his work to my students for our photography unit. I was so excited when he not only said yes but was truly glad that they would be getting used in this educational setting. I was so excited to share these pictures with my class. There were so many that I wanted to show and discuss with them. Finally, I settled on a few that really captured the ideas for the next lesson.


My image

On Wednesday, my class learned about the importance of lighting and how lighting can help capture so many different illusions in pictures. Some of his photography does an amazing job of using light to create images that leave the observer to think about what is being shown. Each person might have a different perspective of what they are seeing. I chose 4 images to show to the class and the results were amazing. The discussion from the students was both engaging and thoughtful. They shared their opinions about how the pieces were created and what feelings might be shared. They were very engaged in the conversation. I couldn’t be more pleased. The students were also very excited to know that they were looking at photographs taken by a photographer from another part of the world who had given them special permission to use his work as a learning tool.


My image

The students were super excited to create their own images with a focus on light, after the lesson. They came up with some very creative ideas that even I couldn’t have expected. It was clear to see that they were inspired by @velimir’s work. Here are some of the ideas that they came up with:

An interesting perspective of a tree



Sun blocking leaf



Let your imagination wander



An ants view of the world?



Fenced in

Above are student Images

A huge thank you to @velimir for allowing us to use his work to both teach and inspire us to create pictures. A big thank you as well to @oldtimer who has given permission to use his pictures as well. We will be using his work this week to explore landscapes. My students are already excited knowing that we will be looking at photographs taken in another part of Canada. Please take a moment to go check out their blogs and enjoy some wonderful stories through their pictures.



Another @velimir image we enjoyed in class on our projector

There are so many great photographers on the Steemit platform and I’m hoping to use many more in the future. Don’t be surprised if I pop by your blog and ask permission. Steemit has truly helped to enhance the photography lessons in my classroom. I’m already looking for ways to use some of these great images in other curriculum areas such as history, geography and language.

Sort:  

Thank you, man.
I'm flattered.

No, thank you!!! The kids are looking forward to your pictures of Landscapes from Alberta. We were supposed to do it today but because of our math test taking longer Han expected we will look at them tomorrow.

This post is fantastic. Your student's images are really good. Don't you just love it when you find that topic that just clicks with them and they get so enthusiastic about creativity?!

Thanks for sharing this.

Yeah, It was a great lesson. I will do this again for sure.

My pleasure. :)
Greetings to students!

Thanks again. It was so great being able to share these and have engaging discussions about your work.

The picture of the fence is great! Awesome job bringing Steemit into your classroom. I introduced Steemit to a group of teachers about a month ago. Do you plan on doing a section on macro photography? That is a huge community that I never realized existed until I joined Steemit.

I have talked to several colleagues about Steemit but only one seems interested and he has been slow to get himself set up. There are still so many that don't believe in crypto. I was considering doing some macro photography. I also want them to create some illusion photography as well. Running out of track with the school year here. I will be starting photography earlier next year.

I hear you, we are on our last week here. Exams today and two half days for the students then we are done. Steemit was my way of bringing crypto to them. It's a way they can wrap their mind around block chain even if they can't wrap their mind around crypto. Steemit is a great introduction because it is something they understand even though it might be built on something they don't.

I have talked to several colleagues about Steemit but only one seems interested and he has been slow to get himself set up. There are still so many that don't believe in crypto. I was considering doing some macro photography. I also want them to create some illusion photography as well. Running out of track with the school year here. I will be starting photography earlier next year.

Wow! How incredibly cool is that? That is just one of the neatest things I've seen in a long time. Amazing.

And then the student images? I'm entirely blown away. My favorite is the tree, but all of them are just terrific.

Kudos, Bronco. For creative teaching that leads to inspired learning.

It was so much fun and I was blown away both by their engagement with the pictures we were examining and their creativity. I could have shown so many more photos. I will continue to do this in the future.

I took a photography class in university because I thought it would be easy. It WAS NOT, but still super fun.
Love that you're bringing steemit in the classroom!

Yeah, I have heard that it can be super tough. The nice thing for the kids is we are keeping it pretty basic.

Nice post, very useful and complete. Love this kind of expression so much

Thank you so much.

With the standard of camera so good on the new phones is there much left to teach. All yo need now is a good eye for the composition.

Most of the pictures these kids are taking are with a device of some sort.

Talented photographer 👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88