My vacation to Arrakis part 1 - Swallowed by the Dunes

in #photography6 years ago

We took a Guild Heighliner to Arrakis last month

to meet my brother and his family for a weekend on the dunes.

arrakis Ace transparency.png
Uncle Adrian AKA Uncle Ace

Sand is drifting up and piling over the narrow spit of land our beach rental house sits on. A sign warning of deep and shifting sands demands your attention before you can even navigate your car down the last bit of the road out to the spit.

Arrakis.jpg

It is no wonder the voracious dunes of the Oregon coast inspired Frank Herbert to write Dune:


The idea [for Dune] came came from an article (I was going to do an article, which I never did) about the control of sand dunes. What many people don’t realize is that the United States has pioneered in this, how to control the flow of sand dunes, and it started up here at Florence, Oregon.
[...]
[Florence, Oregon is] an area where sand dunes blew across U.S. Highway 1, frequently blocking the highway, and the forest service put in a test station down there to determine how they could control the flow of these sand dunes. And I got fascinated by sand dunes. And I got fascinated by sand dunes, because I’m always fascinated by the idea of something that is either seen in miniature and then can be expanded to the macrocosm or which, but for the difference in time, in the flow rate, and the entropy rate, is similar to other features which we wouldn’t think were similar. Like a river…
This selection edited by @carlgnash from the original transcription of Willis McNelly's interview with Frank Herbert.


Standing on top of a dune looking south, feeling the stiff wind at my back and the sand it carries stinging my ears, I can almost see the dunes flowing toward the last houses on the spit.

arrakis 3.jpg

Uncle Ace in the thick of it

The kids love Arrakis of course. Sand is great fun. Sand immediately outside the door? Even better! We spend the afternoon after arrival playing in the sand and otherwise being merry.

As the sun droops lower out above the Pacific ocean, we light the coals in the grill and take a family walk down onto the beach to watch the sunset.

@thingone and @dillemma were having a great time adventurously running in front of the incoming waves... until @thingone decided to let a wave catch up to him. Suddenly cold and dripping wet, he heads back up to the house with mom while I wonder around with @thingtwo for a while.

Yes, I said wonder around.

Hopefully you do the same? The ocean is wondrous. @thingtwo is enraptured and wants to go every direction at once.

arrakis 5.jpg

As the sun finally dips down below the clouds and turns the horizon line a glowing orange

we lie down on the sand and cuddle for a minute between clumps of beach grass. The grass holds the sand in place. The wind tears it away. I hold @thingtwo as if nothing could ever tear him away from me. But I know that is not true. So I hold him tightly in the moment we have, soaking in the distant roar of the waves, an eternity to return to.

Arrakis 6.jpg

Sort:  

Love the dune series!

And can't wait for the world to enter the league of nobles!

Bring on the knife fighting!

I know books are better but I remember with fondness the 80s movie, I thought Virginia Madsen at the intro was gorgeous and Sting was crazy hot... And crazy...lol Beautiful family pics

Thanks @yidneth :) I love that movie :)

I remember listening Desert theme on a cassette synth compilation. I had a small keyboard then and would dream of saving for a proper synth. The "drop" at the beginning (bending low pitch) became superpopular in electronic music decades after lol

did you see a sand worm?

Arrakis...Dune...desert planet. A vast sea of moving sand, inhabited by scattered bands of people, known as the Fremen. Among the rocks lives a small mouse like creature, known to the Fremen as Muad'Dib. There is a mouse shaped shadow on the second moon, also called Muad'Dib...

Ah what a cutie? Thought he was drinking beer at first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89