Mushroom season has started

in #photography5 years ago

It's autumn now, aka. mushroom season, although this day was particularly warm with above 20 degrees and sun, might've been the last day with summer-like weather this year. Being Tuesday, it was also my day off work, so I went to the woods to check out some mushrooms, and did find plenty.

The early autumn starts with brittles (all the pictures are of them). I just realized that the name describes the texture of the Russula genus: fragile, spongy, crumbly. Same thing in Finnish, actually. The older brittles get often eaten by snails and insects, and worms often get inside the stipe.

They're at their best as young – the big ones don't even contain more nutrients or energy, because the mushrooms grow just by inflating their cells with water.

I like to use mushrooms in meal solutions in which you only add minced meat and water to the bag contains, but just substituting the meat with mushrooms. Brittles have a savory taste of their own, and I actually really like them as such, fried on a pan with a drop of oil.

Sort:  

Good time to search for mushrooms, I love them!
Great pictures anyway!

Free food is very lovable :P
Thank you @ttg!

I really like mushrooms to replace meat because the texture and taste are very similar.

While you're on the ground, 50 push-ups and 50 squats?? haha

Haha, forest workout.

Mid-workout snack if non-poisonous. Hope to see your triumphant return to the challenge soon.

Cool pics! Thanks for giving me ideas with that wonderful beetle shot! (I mean photographic ideas. Not going to eat it. :)

Thanks, and you're welcome!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Those are great photos. Mushroom season is a great time. I havent picked mushrooms since I was a kid. We used to pick morels. I hope you know which ones are edible and which aren't though. Mushrooms can be super poisonous and there is often little room for error. Sounds like you are quite knowledgeable of them though. I didn't know that they grow by inflating themselves with water. That's really interesting. Good luck foraging!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks!

I hope you know which ones are edible and which aren't though. Mushrooms can be super poisonous and there is often little room for error.

Yup, I always make sure I know the species before eating, I have a pocket book with me to help identify them. Brittles are very safe to pick because they're easy to identify and don't include any poisonous species. Only a single species that burns your tongue.

oh to have woods like these where i live. they look absolutely lush and straight out of a fairy tale. cant wait to see the skateboarding pixie post!

Plenty of forest here in Finland :)

cant wait to see the skateboarding pixie post!

😂

These photos are beautiful!! I love the dark feel to them and the stunning details you captured as well. Well done dude! ❤️

Thanks you, Justine!

Despite a warm day, it was still cloudy in the morning when I took these, so a dark tone seemed appropriate.

lovely macros! thank you.

Thanks for checking out :)

I know nothing about mushrooms, but they look cute :D
Nice shots! especially this one! :D

I know nothing about mushrooms, but they look cute :D

They are things that either give you energy, kill you or make you tripping balls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17