Daily poetry: Feminism (with photo)

in #photography5 years ago

As an artist, I feel that one of my missions is to broach touchy topics.

Like any other woman in the world, I have had to deal with nasty comments, inappropriate gestures and insults. I have also experienced discrimination and harassment in the workplace. I could go on and on, but it is not the point of my post.

While there have been many improvements in the way women are seen in society, especially in Europe and Canada, the road to equality is still paved with pitfalls. And it is not just some men's fault. Women are also responsible for the status quo.

Feminism is a vital movement. Without it, I would not be able to blog or post my photography anywhere. I would have no voice in society. And my life would have been limited to getting married, having children and doing household chores all day.

I am grateful for all the women (and men) who have worked so hard to allow me to lead my life the way I want.

Unfortunately, every movement has its extremists. Feminism is no exception.

There are women who see the world in black and white -- "me" vs. "them". Women for whom verbal fights are the only solutions to achieve equality. They cannot accept disagreements and will take attempts at opening their minds as personal attacks. In a nutshell, it is just "my way or the highway" with them.

The problem with that attitude, is that it destroys all the work previous generations have done. It alienates allies and makes it harder for true feminists to be taken seriously.

The poem below is a jab at extremist feminism. It's my first piece in almost three years...

FEMINISM

They say that your pronoun defines your strength,
That a “she” cannot equate a “he”.
I’m sorry but I beg to differ.
An extra letter has a lot to offer.

They say that equality is a fight,
That prejudice deserves bigotry.
I’m sorry but I beg to differ.
There is more to life than hatred for the sinner.

They say that man is the enemy,
That his fear curbs social progress.
I’m sorry but I beg to differ.
Ignorance is not the prerogative of one gender.

The problem these days
Is simple and yet so real.
Our anger has blinded us.
Our teenage angst has deafened us.
We sport traumas and martyrdom
As keywords to force one-sided lyrics.

For there is a bigger picture
That we conveniently forget
When agendas need to be furthered
Or wheat separated from chaff.

And while you feel entitled to be right,
And point fingers with all your might,
Bodies continue to pile up.
Screams for help still meet silence
Because you are too busy

Fighting the wrong fight,
Empowering negative ideas,
Minimizing diversity,
Instilling mistrust,
Negating differing opinions,
Interrupting cohesive discussions,
Seeking revenge, and
Maintaining the status quo.

For there is a bigger picture
That you need to embrace better.
Yes, it is hard to be a woman.
But is it the only thing you want others to know about us?

Feminism is not just about your personal journey.
Disagreeing with you doesn’t make me your enemy.

Feminism, this word you throw at others
When corners are dangerously close,
Is not yours to corrupt and abuse.

Feminism is about humanity
And the bonds that bind us.
It is not yours to use as an excuse
To belittle the rest of society.

Feminism is about community
And the legacy we’ll leave behind us.

Fortitude,
Empathy,
Maturity,
Integrity,
Never-ending
Impetus,
Solace, and
Momentum.

That is what feminism means to me.

©2018 Cendrine Marrouat

Kauai 18 scaled.jpg

CategoryCloseup photography
SettingsISO 250, f/5.6, 1/60s
CameraNikon D750
LensNikkor 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6 @ 72mm
LocationKauai, Hawaii, United States

Photography by Cendrine Marrouat (@cendrinemedia) - http://www.cendrinemedia.com


If you liked this post, leave a comment and share it! Thank you!


See my photography, books and limited-edition prints for sale by clicking the image below:

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Excellent read, thanks for sharing 🐳 🇨🇦 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17