constantshots daily photofeed

in #photography5 years ago

In march we've been to the beautiful coast of Lagos in Portugal. There I tried my variable ND-Filter for the first time. Actually since then I used it only twice. I have to admit that I'm often just too lazy to set up my tripod and get the exposure correctly with the filter. But I still wanted to share the results of this first experiment.

IMG_2510-1.jpg
Canon EOS 50D | Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM | F25 | 13sec | ISO 100 | 30mm


IMG_2512-1.jpg
Canon EOS 50D | Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM | F22 | 10sec | ISO 100 | 17mm


Here the same photo in black and white with a slightly different crop. I think that the effect is much more pronounced in the black and white edit.


IMG_2512.jpg
Canon EOS 50D | Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM | F22 | 10sec | ISO 100 | 17mm


And here one without filter for comparison.


IMG_2532.jpg
Canon EOS 50D | Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM | F8 | 1/250sec | ISO 100 | 72mm


Hope you have a nice day!
Constantin

Sort:  

What a cool selection of shots, I had a variable ND but never was happy with the result si got from it so stopped using it, Long exposures can be fun to play with

Yeah, I was in spain when I bought the filter and the variable one was the only thing I found after searching for some time, so I got it anyway.
But I have to admit, that I'm still taking shots with it by trial-and-error.
Do you have a good method for getting the exposure correctly?

the best filter is the one you can find afford and have with you , they all have pros and cons :)

As for getting the exposure right, the camera is quite good at that when I use aperture priority which I often use, but sometimes its a matter of trial and error

Yeah, I tried using aperture priority but it seems that there is so few light coming in that the camera messes up the exposure calculation. The best method I found was to set it to maual without the filter and then count the f-stops of the filter onto the current setting. From there on I have a at least decent starting point for further trys.

That sounds a real good way of doing it, and if it is working for you stick with it

I dropped my new grad ND filter today and it landed on a small rock and got a big scratch it, the day just went downhill from there LOl, tomorrow will be a better day

Sorry to hear that, I hope you'll have a better day today!

Well apart from forgetting my Work ID card todays has started well :)

Nice to hear :)
considering forgetting a work ID card is just a minor mishap?
We have been out bouldering the whole day and ejoying nature around here in Fontainebleau.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62