Toesies, Nosies, Blooming Posies — Sneaking Up on a Sleeping Black FoxsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-black-fox1.png

Squiggle, wiggle, sidle, stop. Breathe softly. Squiggle forward again, camera extended... UGH what did I just wiggle through?

      Suck in another breath and grimace as something shifts and squishes under me. (On further examination on the way back, it's a chewed rabbit leg.) In front of me, the small black male fox dozes like a child; head bobbing, slitted eyes fluttering, little paws extended in a gentle stretch. It takes pretty much all of my power not to SQUEE at the top of my lungs and terrify the tiny fur-tufted tough guy. I'm here on my annual pilgrimage, and I know what a unique opportunity it is to observe these foxes while they allow me to. The least I can do is not act like a total asshat.

crimsonclad-black-fox2.png

Sunlight gilds red-tipped, silvery fur and warms my heart. Little toes, a scarred up nose, and a sprinkling of yellow and blue flowers in a soft carpet to nap on.

 
crimsonclad-black-fox3.png

Each set of these photos that I take of new families of foxes each year — laying in the grass watching them live their lives completely unconcerned about me or any other human — is truly a joy. Every few months I come back to my giant collection of shots and pull out a small vignette to share a little bit of that contented joy with you. I can't help but have to try to keep the smile from my face when I look at the perfect paw pose. I shift a bit to get more comfortable as the golden rays landing on my back start making me a little drowsy myself, and a caramel eye cracks open a slit. Dammit.

crimsonclad-black-fox4.png

crimsonclad-black-fox5.png

Those tiny toes and slashed nose twitch. Despite the bright sun, the shade this little monster is throwing my way is palpable.

 
crimsonclad-black-fox6.png

I've smushed up his rabbit leg, and I've interrupted his sleep. The wide scar between his nostrils flares to let me know that he gives all of zero fucks about me hanging about, but the one-eyed look is full of annoyance and the suggestion I find a better locale to toast my buns, as this one is taken. I hide my grin and solemnly nod as I squiggle backwards again in deference; I figure I've pulled it off pretty respectfully as I stand up and dust myself off, until I realize I'm decorated with a bit of rabbit goop from his lunch. Humans are so annoying.

(Want more adorable foxes? See my very first Steem post about playful babies here, or this sassy momma here.)

crimsonclad-black-fox7.png

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I run a top 20 STEEM witness with @followbtcnews. Please reach out on Steem.Chat or Discord any time! If we haven't earned your vote, please consider SteemTipper, our community work, and STEEM.Chatvote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.

Sort:  

I didn't even know that there was such a thing as a black fox. If I ever saw one I would have assumed it was just a very old one.

Mind you I had never seen a pig in real life til 2 years ago. That's city boys for you :P

It always, always warms my little lens when I find things like this while out shooting! For me, it's often birds, as that's mostly what I get to shooting.

Finding a bunch of little kits and momma fox was awesome though! Never got decent shots... always through some briars or bushes.
And mom?
I see her all summer, bold as day, trundling on down, mid road, in one direction or the other, maybe half the time with a bit of rabbit, or squirrel to bring back for a midday snack!

This is a trip I take each year to a place people tend not to know about. It's a closely guarded secret so I can selfishly keep having opportunities like these, but most of it is timing. Kits are old enough that momma doesn't worry much any more, but still small and fuzzy, and still fearless, plus the best possible weather. It's this annual perfect storm of adorbs.

I SUCK at taking pictures of birds. I haven't figured out the avian whisper, yet.

I envy those perfect storms of Adorabs-ness

God, I love these pictures you take.. Its a real talent you have with the camera, I am always highly impressed!

OMG it's so adorable I just want to snuggle it!!!!!

the struggle is real. I think they're probably bitey, but it's not very dissuasive.

You snuck up on that? You must have epic sneak skills.. love the fur and little plants underfoot.

Posted using Partiko Android

HOW DID YOU GET SO CLOSE TO A FOXY? Thats so cute ahhhh! What a cool buddy boi, ferocious boi, precious boi.

I wonder if you have the same powers with bears xD have you taken pictures of bears?? I got raccoons but thats about it LOL

Why yes, bears are always doing a yum around my place~

I have a papillion who looks just like a fox/bear-mouse haha. This little cousin is so sweet <3 Arrow (my pup) is super cuddley and lives in my bed with me, unfortunately I bet his cuz wouldn't be so inclined lol

I simply loved this, @crimsonclad - everything about it from your connection with the fox, to your playful and humorous words to your amazing photography. That little fox allowed you into his/her space. How special is that?!

@twodorks I think you and your little dorks would enjoy this post :)

I've never seen, nor heard of, a black fox! 😮

I was shocked that Wikipedia reports: "Foxes live on every continent except Antarctica." Wow! 🦊

In this area, we only have the Red Fox and the Gray Fox. This little guy you photographed is so very cute! It is amazing that you were able to get so close to him! Of course, you may have been using a zoom-lens on your camera, but still, to get that close is phenomenal to me! BRAVO for these wonderful photos and your always-entertaining write-up about the encounter! 😊

Little bit of both. They just have no idea that they should be concerned at all at this age, and provided you're kind and quiet, you're really not interesting to them at all!

signal-2017-05-22-123627.jpg

Ah you got a telescoping lens, that helped alot.

Once again, too cool!

Awe! What a little sweetie! I have never heard of or seen a black fox! Very cool. Your pilgrimage sounds great! A time spent in nature. Do you go solo? I love the poetic nature of your post! Thanks for sharing @crimsonclad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88