When I Was A Photographer - A Brief Passing Of Time

in #photography6 years ago

Molly_film_car_1000.png

I took this photo during my cinematic period, the obsession with the romance of film had over taken me and everywhere I went and everything I looked at reminded me of a film I had seen.

I decided that I wanted to experiment with soft focus, for me it was about capturing an intangible, unspoken moment. A place between fantasy and reality, a kind of changing . . . even now as I try and explain it, I cannot quite put my finger on what it was that I tried to capture. Yet I can still feel it as I look at the picture.

We took the still in the back seat of a vintage Mercedes, it was not moving at the time, yet somehow the picture conveys movement, and perhaps that is what I love so much about it.

Her look encapsulates the mood perfectly; I was to take many more pictures with Molly, yet this is the favourite. She is the movie star in an unfolding, not-quite-remembered dream.

What do you think; what would this movie be about?

Cryptogee

Sort:  

just i want to say you never giveup

The hoody and the soft focus appear to shield Molly against the bright lights of the big city behind.

Her wistful sideways glance, coupled with the warm lighting, suggest a romantic youthful innocence about her character that she seeks to disguise by dressing tough.

A film with this kind of character would typically involve her youthful naïveté being consumed by the big city behind her, with her emerging older and wiser at the end.

It could be a social realist thriller, like "Dirty Pretty Things," where she teams up with down and out characters to avoid violent criminals, or, it could be a fantasy-realistic-romance hybrid, like Jean Vigo's legendary L'Atalante, in which Molly hitches up with an older man, only for them to fall out because of her youthful rebelliousness, after which they both regret their impulsive decisions and come back together at the end of the movie.

In fact, Molly reminds me of Dita Parlo's impulsive Juliette in L'Atalante, kind of a modern cyber-hacker version of Juliette. :)

Beautifully broken down! It's like you have articulated my wistful, unformed thoughts; indeed when you talk of the hoody and soft focus shielding her, you encapsulate the vulnerability that Molly exudes in the picture.

Beautiful words sir, I can see why you're a reviewer! :-D

Cryptogee

Yeah..beautifully reviewed...
Pardon me @cryptogee, but @rodneysreviews outshines you on this one...
You are the creator of this photograph and his is the perfect curator of it...
I am not even going to make a try at reviewing, because best review is already here.

Tell me about it! His words are sheer poetry :-)

Cg

You experiment with the soft focus turned out in the shape of a Marvelous photograph. It's no easy to guess about the movie, but I will give it a try.
I think the movie is about the girl who wants to live her life the way she wants to live without any disturbance in the world. That's only my guess @cryptogee

This is one of the best again, I always love all those caught unaware moments like this one... Smile

What a perfect touch you had there....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16