When I Was A Photographer - When Cryptogee Met Corinne

in #photography6 years ago

Corinne_Day_1.png

I met Corinne Day on the same night I met Chris Eubank and unfortunately on that night I had three rolls of film stolen from my jacket pocket, with the only surviving roll being in my camera.

It was an after show party in fashion week at the St. Martin's Lane hotel. I chose to show these pics not because they are high quality (they're not), but more because Corinne Day who was so important to photography died in 2010.

I didn't know it at the time but this would have been not long before, or around the same time that she was diagnosed in 1996 with an inoperable brain tumour, which she and her husband kept secret until 2009. I'm not totally sure, however if you look in her left eye you can see what may be the tumour, as sometimes these things can be highlighted by flash photography, however as I said I'm not entirely sure this is the case, though to me it is still sad as she may well have known in this photo about the tumour.

I had met Corinne a few times, I didn't consider her a friend, but we hung out in the same circles and she was a really good pal of a friend of mine a fellow photographer called Vinca Petersen.

History

Below from left to right Vinca Petersen, Jade Jagger, Corrine Day, unknown

Corinne_Day_750.png

Corinne Day was famous for discovering a 15 year old Kate Moss and putting her on the cover of Vogue, in what was then an antithetical shot to the fashion industry.

Instead of the high glamour and perfect make-up which was synonymous with cover shots at the time. She presented Kate as a raw and vulnerable girl, with no makeup and simply dressed.

The picture would spark the grunge look, later to become known as heroin chic. It was that term that prompted Kate's agent to forbid her to do any more shots with Day.

Despite that Kate and Corinne remained great friends until her death in 2010 at the age of 48.

I never really got to know Corinne that well, however she always seemed like a very sweet and humble lady, she shunned the limelight and was happiest behind the lens and I was very sad to learn of her death eight years ago.

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Tumours really suck...
I am a 1st hand affectee, if you ask me...things can get excruciating and messy.
It's not an easy thing to cope with... I wonder how she kept her illness secret...

Oh man, hope you are fully recovered now... When I say she kept it a secret, I'm sure her close friends and family knew. However she kept it from the press and general public who didn't know until 2009.

Cg

I am alright(physically ) ... I just lost my mom because of (tumour) cancer last month...she was 49..:(
And I am still digesting the fact that she is gone... You are 1st person on Steemit whom I told this..

Oh, I feel your pain, I lost my sister to it last year... be strong, she will always live on in your heart, and her beauty will be reflected in your actions :-)

Cg

So sorry about her dear.

Just try and grow over it, life happens like that most times.

Though, she smiled in the picture, their is still a sign of unhappiness in her smile, probably she already know as at then...

They shouldn't have kept it as secret, they should have talked to some trusted people about it, probably they would get it removed before it cause a lot if damages.

Maybe so...

probably they would get it removed before it cause a lot if damages.

Apparently not, the position and size of it when they discovered it meant that surgery was never an option.

As far as I'm aware, it was only a secret to the general public and the media, her close friends and family were probably aware.

Cg

Ouch! I don't think along that line. Well, may her soul rest in perfect peace.

Corinne is really sweet and humble lady. :)

Oh, sad to know about stollen rolls, I'm so sorry for your loss, but still with one roll in the Camera, you captured this beauty! Everything has something good in it, I don't why what was good in stolen rolls, but I am pretty sure it had saved you from a bigger loss, this is what my belief is.

After hearing this news it is very sad that Corinne has died. I wish her soul's peace. She was a very good girl.

As always, I love your stories, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17