5th Day Straight Snow And I Almost Didn’t Make It Home! - Canadian Winter Storm

in #photography5 years ago

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/d00k13-5th-day-straight-snow-and-i-almost-didnt-make-it-home-canadian-winter-storm-rsbubjzm-1549946732536.jpg

So there is my car before I dug it out, I cleared it off at lunch also! Almost 10” of snow today and we are supposed to see another 5” minimum. Getting out of the parking lot wasn’t so bad but trying to get anywhere once I made it to the road was nearly impossible!

56077A85-C965-4F4D-8297-4807585450CD.jpeg

Three attempts to get onto the main road, I had to go for it blind not stopping at the stop sign to look for traffic and just hope no one was coming! A less experienced driver would have gotten stuck in my car, I almost did just trying to get to the main road. I needed the momentum to get past the built up snow creating a little wall from the plow and almost ended up high centred on my final attempt. Just enough of the main road was plowed to spin my tires and dig through the packed snow to the pavement and get moving. When I say just I mean just and if I didn’t I would have been completely stuck, go for broke right!

21BBA951-F9D5-4A74-BD1B-AAB4E6BAD67D.jpeg

The highway wasn’t to bad, stayed below 50km/h most of the way home. Had a few situations with people not wanting to be patient and wait on us slower cars. Almost had the guy in front of me turn into some idiot behind me as he pulled ahead of us on the right in unpacked snow only to take the same turn as the guy in front of me. I had my GoPro rolling nearly the whole trip home so I caught that impatient bugger on camera!

99C2940D-C087-4890-A224-F214D8CB7FF3.jpeg

Same with the one down the highway a little further thinking we still had room for two lanes. He passed a few of us only to realize we were all stuck behind the plow. Idiot almost hit the Jeep he was tailgating then almost put himself in the ditch with his reaction.

22ABE34D-1285-49B3-88DD-0A89AF8BD09A.jpeg

Then in my neck of the woods while I was trying to get going from a red light a truck decided to pass me on the oncoming traffic lane. He lives in my neighbourhood and couldn’t even have the patience to slow down. Instant Karma, I watched him back into his garage door while trying to park of course after he made me stop on the hill 🤣.

So that was not to bad right? Well the worst was the last two turns up hill to get into my driveway! Nearly got stuck a few times and it took 5 solid attempts to get onto my property. The roads are not plowed in my neighbourhood at all and it’s at that level where the bottom of the car was starting to drag. So I’m home safe, a little frustrated and cold from having to keep getting out and assess the situation when I would end up unable to move but I made it.

Luckily my landlord is not coming home for a few nights, I ended up parked across both our spots. Not about to try move it now and with how it is sitting I should be able to just roll backwards onto the road then coast down the hill. Here is hoping the plow comes up our road tonight otherwise all that snow will be ice in the morning and I won’t be going very far!

New Too Partiko? Get A SP Bonus!!!

Start Using Partiko and Get 15 Steem Power Delegation

If you haven’t tried Partiko out yet and your struggling with RC limitations check that post above it will help you greatly 👍 or just check it out anyways and support them in supporting newbies!

I love the Partiko Mobile App for two simple reasons, function and appeal. It works as it should with speed and looks great while adding its own level of gamification to interaction through in-app points collection plus redemptions for perks.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

46903C31-E7B4-48EB-9602-FAB49290FE62.gif

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Wow nice shot. But sad for the car!!
Oh and for your efforts to get it out of course 😯 I would be freaking out 😨
Posted using Partiko iOS

Ahaha after 5 days in a row you start to get used to it 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

We had similar experiences here in south Germany for the second time this winter. Schools were closed for a few days and so on. The snow was moved to parking lots by heavy wheel loaders and trucks because it was to much to just push it aside.
IMG_20190111_134742.jpgIMG_20190111_124521.jpg

We don’t seem to have the equipment available to move it anywhere then just to the side 🤦‍♂️ this is so far our only snow fall all winter and today will be the second day snowed in. Simply put people just decide to say screw it I’m not going work!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well then I wish you luck and hope the situation will get better soon! ☺️ We had two heavy snowfalls this winter and had big problems even though we should be prepared because heavy snow was not that unusual in the past. I think having almost no snow the last few years got us in trouble when it snowed that hard this winter.
If you have the chance to stay at home and not going to work its a great choice to stay at the safe and warm home.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well some crazy snow out there and glad at the end you made it back home. 15 " that is kind of not so cool Snow lol

Lol we are supposed to get more yet! Ended up getting yesterday off work they called and said no one was showing up so they cancelled production!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Crazy weather while south Florida is soothing.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea I prefer a little winter chill over the summer heat 😅 we are usually fairly temperate here on Vancouver Island.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow awesome photography I like your excellent work

Thanks for stopping in buddy

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some of these drivers are so inconsiderate.
Stay safe out there. The snow is getting worse as I read. Back here in Ukraine its calming down.
I hope you switched to snow wheels. I am happy that you made it safe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nope no snow tires on my Toyota but our Suzuki has snow tires, was still difficult to get around with snow tires yesterday. It has slowed down but not stopped yet, might be taking today off work also!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Why was it difficult with snow tires?
Slow better than halted; but stay safe. Health is the most important asset. Work can wait.

Oh. Sorry for your car, i guess your car has found a new cloth.

It suddenly felt old in the cold and grew a white beard 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @d00k13! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 170000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Very exciting story to read with lots of detail! I felt like I was right there. I'm left speachless except for one word..."yikes!"

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85