Taking The Pledge To No Longer Self Vote

in #photography6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-taking-the-pledge-to-no-longer-self-votep2yn5eew-1536097429515.png

With upcoming changes making it so that self voting will not actually benefit you at all I will not be doing it any longer!

I wish to preserve my voting power for others with doing three posts a day at 100% up vote that is equal to approx 3% voting power or six hours recharging just to vote my own dang posts. I would much rather return this to the community, currently I am also recharging my account for added value behind my vote.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Right on!
I've been doing this for a while,a dn now, thanks to @humanearl SP donation my vote is worth over 0.02 so hopefully I'm gonna start atracting some folks over my coment section!
I did a discharge on how self voting and Upvoting Bots are ruining Steem, but since was in spanish there's no way you've seen it xD

Sounds like it’s time for an english post 💪

I agree to an extent, after the next hardfork self votes will just waist your VP .... I think it’s the whale circle jerk for votes that really destroys the platform along with mass delegations to bots and a lack of curation from larger accounts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

the whale circle jerk for votes that really destroys the platform along with mass delegations to bots.
Those are the main factors to Me (the ones I pointed out in the post.
A lot of ppl is delegating to get pennies, and not conecting to get rich.

All the people whom started early and got good payouts have stopped doing their duties of curation... I personally think that these upvote services should be restricted but then that would put myself in a place of no payouts... even if I connect with people it’s difficult to find a generous whale ... in the early days people would get $1-200 for a good comment on a whales work never mind a post now those whales don’t even post nor do they vote comments

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've done a fair amount of self-voting and have noticed that the curation reward from voting for myself is hardly worth the trouble. I could've gotten the same curation from someone else's decent post. I think the whole self-vote thing is just a feature in the system that should've been treated as an oversight and fixed right away. It makes no sense for people to upvote their own post. Of course they are going to like their own content, why even make it an option?

I agree it’s a stupid move but I don’t think it was an oversight, I think it was made to be able to pay yourself to start the psychology of the horde votes.... my take on it anyways... I think the easiest solution is self votes go back to the rewards pool but does not drain your VP since your not really paying anyone out by using it at least after the next hardfork goes live. Currently the system encourages people to invest in their accounts to be able to vote themselves.... backasswards if you ask me...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Like I said, why would anyone need to vote for themselves aside from the monetary benefit? It should've never been allowed to be implemented in the first place.

I do agree it needs to be changed yet I cannot help wondering about the work arounds that people would be using such as powering up a second account... the inclusion of self votes may have been an attempt to circumvent the secondary selfvote accounts for purpose of tracking

Posted using Partiko iOS

All it takes is a second account, which I see people doing on here left and right. They get a huge whale like account and then start another account with basic posts and then use their incredible upvote power to upvote themselves. I wish I could do it. It would be easy money.

Yup I’m still trying to figure out who is in command of the random whale accounts that vote my blockchain related works, I boost and either these accounts follow boosted work or I have been noticed through that boosting... I still wonder if it’s only rewards based interest or content related.

If you whom ever you are reads this please let me in on the secret?

Posted using Partiko iOS

That would be a most interesting answer as it seems to be that only "whales" voting are one who is voting for himself and the rest seem to be bots, where the whales have likely delegated their SP to and are taking rewards more invisibly that way.

Man if I had that kind of power to play with I would not be hiding it in the slightest, I would be a proud curator!

I have tried to track down which accounts it could be based on outgoing votes but most of the users are like myself, trying to do good just somewhat unrecognized. Who ever it is has put a lot of effort into hiding themselves and it is definitely curation based but I fear it is relative to curation rewards only and not my content other then subject. Not complaining at all but it’s something that fascinates me, could very well just be a bot with specific filters.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wish I can take this pledge with you ..........
at some point I will have to follow you footsteps

When the next hardfork goes live self votes will just go back into the rewards pool, basically just wasting your VP.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Waooo....... Is that serious
I never knew........ this would eventually be the trend them
I would be in line to make a major decision too.

Yea thus the reason I am getting into the habit now

Posted using Partiko iOS

So it means self vote is not something good to do even there is an option to self vote?

Posted using Partiko Android

With the next fork the self vote value will just return to the rewards pool, basically just a waist of VP.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My God!! I just voted yesterday!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s not the end of the world just I am choosing to no longer do it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Then i'll also choose that to do.As i'm very new to it, I should follow elders.Isn't it??

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes and no, many of the long standing users cheat the system but if you use a little discretion you will find the path that best suits you and doesn’t harm our wonderful platform!

Post often, make it count, connect with as many as you can, invest in your account is my main advice for anyone joining us.... further more just do you is what it’s all about!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh Darn! I haven't been back on Steemit for a while now, didn't know that self voting would hurt us. I just self voted my few posts because some were saying that you were allowed. Oh well, I'm gonna smack my fingers the next time, I'm tempted.

Yea it’s not a rule not to but I have known since my first days that it’s frowned upon, I really just want to improve my account ranking and save the VP for curation of others.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What are the upcoming changes and what about auto curation trail self votes?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well basically my understanding is self votes just go back into the rewards pool. I hope with steemauto we can get Mahdi to implement no self votes when following a trail. He mentioned he intended to do it before but has not had the time with so many other things taking priority. Most likely I will just remove the vote if I see it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh really self votes don’t actually help you? So boosting is a better option

Posted using Partiko iOS

It will be when the next hard fork goes live, or using a dumby account for voting your own work with delegated SP

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice to see more people join the non self voter team! I was inspired after seeing @jlordc 18 days free from self voting post and I myself am now 9 days clean and it’s great! I get to vote on way more posts and I’m seeing a spike in curation rewards since!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea I have been humming and hawing about it for months, now that I am gaining attention it feels like the next logical step so I may use it for curation of others. As for curation rewards my account is still very low power and I do not receive very much in comparison to author rewards.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @d00k13! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Dunca

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76