Follow Up Post: Small Scale Historical Houses in My Garden

in #photography5 years ago

image.png


In my post from yesterday, I mentioned that I was going to share some more pictures of these small historical houses. These are part of the domain where my newly rented house is situated. This is all private area, so it's not open for the public.

I have heard that last year a TV crew came by to film these for some Belgian TV-show about gardens. Not really sure which show it was exactly.


image.png


So, these were all built between 1946 and 1953, by 8 people in total. The sign says that every house is based on a historical house from a certain region. You can see it here in the legend:


image.png


image.png


There was also a small well, as you can see in the picture below.


image.png


One particular building had some pretty nice-looking carvings on the walls and all buildings also had a custom made interior. Sadly, I didn't photograph inside every building, but I did manage to get one decent picture.


image.png


image.png


image.png


Some of these buildings are quite intricate, I have no idea how they've managed to build them. It's pretty amazing that they're still as intact as they are.


image.png


That's about it really, I'm glad that these pictures are now online and contained within the Steem blockchain. Eventually these buildings will probably go away and I don't think there's any other record of them (except on that elusive TV show).

Hope you've enjoyed reading this post and looking at all the photographs!

Sort:  

These are astonishing works of art! The first two look as if they are made of chocolate (or maybe that's just my personal obsession). The last one looks as if it's made of marshmallows with chocolate edging! You've certainly found a unique place to live.

Wow, those are pretty impressive. I have to be honest, they are a little creepy too. It totally makes me think of some mystical forest where smurfs or leprechauns or something like that would live. Oh wait, smurfs live in mushrooms right? It is pretty cool though and you can tell that a lot of time and effort was put into building them.

Yeah it's a bit creepy indeed :P The woods surrounding them are really big btw, so it does resemble something out of a fairy-tale. I hope we don't get visited by a witch at night :D

Haha! For sure! It does seem cool though. I often drive by old properties with outbuildings and stuff like that and wonder what must be in them. If I didn't live in the US where you can get shot so easily I would give @slobberchops UrbEx a go...

That/those houses look a little surreal @daan, just not quite authentic.. though I have no doubts they are.

I'm sure they're not perfectly historically correct. Was quite surprised to find them in my backyard basically :')

I was looking forward to these post and the level of detail they put into these is pretty impressive even down to cups on the table and cool carvings, thanks for sharing

The first one looks like the little red riding Hood's Grandma house

Yeah for sure!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

The building photography looks nice. Though it seems the building must have spent ages on earth looking at the structure

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.377 which ranks you at #2268 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 2278).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Those people really did some great work.

The photo of the interior could easily pass by a full size house.

I remember one of my visits to a town near my house, one of the attractions is that in the town live fairies, you can go to the wood and in some places there are some small houses (smaller than these of course).

Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, I wonder if they built this for children to play in, they look amazing still having the indoor furniture.

What an exceptional find, a little history and a feel of how people lived!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85