Don’t Kill Photography, Please!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Photography is a profession. There are some quick courses of a couple of weeks but serious people are learning it for several years, and improving their skills, or art all their life. Like other really good professionals or artist. Talent is often no other virtue than a lot of application, diligence, practice.

092 sunset dual.jpg
To the left a nice Pixabay.com sunset. To the right, an amateur photo where nothing is made appropriate. No real composition, the colors are ugly, the moment isn’t the right one, the horizon isn’t horizontal, the boat is cut, an unidentifiable object is floating and disturbing to the right. Focused too close in the foreground.

All are natural talents

Since digital cameras and phones became widely popular in the World, many people are thinking they are natural talents and can make “high art” without learning anything. Phone or camera out from the pocket, click, click, share, awaiting burst of applause. (And, by the way, many people are thinking they are really genius experts of soccer, or baseball, of politics, of whatsoever, gifted from their birth.)

I see some really nice pictures on Steemit, but also many really bad or simply uninteresting ones. Many people have absolutely no clue about photography. Lights, colors? Sad, ugly, boring, or in best case neutral. Background? Chaotic, boring, disorderly or disturbing. Foreground, theme? Pets only interesting for their owners, crowded tourist destinations, bleak beaches, simple plants in the bloggers garden, suspicious looking food on the plate...

Composed by no composers

Composition? What? Some people never heard anything of that. (See the main composition rules here, or here. Or Google or DuckDuckGo for “photo composition basics”.)

Don’t interpret me wrong, I don’t want to kill the enthusiasm of young talented photographers, but I’d like them to make better photos. I’m suggesting they should learn a little more, at least, reading good articles about photography.

Goals to reach

Are you feeling novice, or that you could improve? Did you make some shots of some known city? Compare your photos with Pixabay’s and decide: which ones are better? Pixabay is offering this photos for free, to make advertising to the even better, sometimes really artistic ones sold on Shutterstock. You can find good examples which levels you should reach first.

And you, @deathcross, what kind of ugly photos are you making? – I hear the voices. True, I know I’m also making some bad or mediocre photos. I’m posting often very old pictures from the golden times I could travel a lot, and I like to tell stories. I left amateur photography years ago because I felt I’m not good, and to be good, I should dedicate all my time to this only one hobby.

Wasn’t meant offense

Now I’m concentrating on writing, narrating. But I’m sure I can form an opinion about the photos. As on Steemit there are content creators and curators.

I tried to tell it to some of the photo-bloggers here what their failure was, in my humble opinion. Best case: they don’t answer. Worst case: they feel offended or they also attack me without talking really about the picture itself. So, I better go back to my investments and less known travel places…

Next: Prague, Charles Bridge, and the Castle. Upper photo: a bad amateur shot. Lower photo: a nice one from Pixabay.com.
092 Prague dual.jpg

Sort:  

Ummm...Take from somebody who's been in photography for a while...Yes, I have my background from days where you didn't have a built-in matrix auto light meter or no sensor in camera. Sorry, anybody with a $300 smartphone can take picture. Period.

Photography as it stands as a profession is very likely dead. I'm sure the Sony, Nikon, or Canon don't want you to think that. They want your money. But, photography? Nay. Bad photo? No problem...In comes Adobe, after taking your money, fixing your bad photos into a master piece.

Seriously this whole talk about Photography is Dead is or dying is just silly. It's been dead a long time :) But you can always tell yourself you're the next Ansel Adams.But for certain, It's great "MARKETING" that's going to make you succeed in photography not your photographic talent.

You can find real pictures today, but you need to know where. If we don't talk about that issues there will be even more misguided, blind people.
There will be always fast food and restaurants with Michelin stars.
Thank you.

I don't believe photography is dead. Another can take a picture. Only those who master the art can preserve a memory in a picture.

This is just about my thoughts on writing too. Everyone think because they can narrate what happened to them, they are dope writers. Point out a flaw or two and they get offended, saying you're elitist in your thinking. The same thing applies to drawing.

Some of these things are talent driven. That you can attempt a piece doesn't make you equal to those who have the talent and invest their lives into honing their skills

Good work on letting the word out

Upvoted, resteemed and followed

I think people can decide for themselves if a photo is art, is good, is bad, is a hack job. Like any other Art Form it is up to the people to decide. If a person gives serious insight into what they think would make one of my pictures better, I listen. I honestly do not understand the statement:

Pets only interesting for their owners

I like seeing pictures of peoples pets, but that is me. I also love looking at pictures of bees, they are when one can get the shot pretty fascinating critters.

There is nothing wrong with being an Amateur Photographer, or a beginning photographer, or a professional Photographer. And there certainly is absolutely nothing wrong with people sharing their photos. It is easy to click away if a person does not like the picture, or they can let the person know what would have made it just a bit more pleasing.

I tried to tell it to some of the photo-bloggers here what their failure was, in my humble opinion.

Perhaps there would be less personal attacks if you said what was successful about the photo and what could have been done to take it to the next level instead of telling them *"what their failure was,"

I think people can decide for themselves if a photo is art, is good, is bad,

No, not always. To make the difference you need learn or experience

There is nothing wrong with being an Amateur Photographer,

Of course, not, I wanted to say, they need to see the reality and learn, improve.

The sad thing is, as soon as someone buys a camera and takes photos, they are a photographer. But there's a huge difference between a 'photographer' and a pro photographer.
I hate it when I see an instagram like "Name_Photography" and you look on their page and their photos are uncomfortable to look at and yet they have huge amounts of followers.
Then when we, the actual paid photographers have to fight relatively hard to get our work out there!

I think amateurs kill photography. Someone who takes pictures is not a photographer..in the same way someone who is doodling on a napkin is not an artist. Photography is a passion and you seem to be very passionate about it. Someone who just point and shoot with his cell phone or with a camera on full auto-mode likes to take a pictures, but he is not into photography and its aspects like composition, exposure and so on. They are no threat.

Photography is an art which is learnt through the passage of time and experience. and yes keep up with such good content.

Saludos, esto es asombró.
Soy muy fan de las fotos, tengo un buen álbum de fotos maravillosas, nada más que no las he publicado.
Quisiera poder comprarme una cámara profesional para poder seguir haciendo mis fotos.

You have some very nice photographs hope you post more like these on your blog will follow you hope to see more

I'm a bad photographer. Maybe I could be a good critic.

You got a 99.34% upvote from @bdvoter courtesy of @deathcross!

Delegate your SP to us at @bdvoter and earn daily 100% profit share for your delegation & rewards will be distributed automatically daily.

500 SP, 1000 SP, 2500 SP, 5000 SP, 10000 SP.

If you are from Bangladesh and looking for community support, Join BDCommunity Discord Server & If you want to support our service, please set your witness proxy to BDCommunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84