California Mountain Adventures - Timber Mountain

timber cover.png

Welcome to this edition of

California Mountain Adventures!!

In this adventure I climb up through the Cucamonga wilderness
to the summit of

Timber Mountain!

mountaindivider.jpg

Timber Mountain (8,307 ft/2,532 m) lies in the Cucamonga Wilderness in the eastern San Gabriel mountains. For this hike I headed up San Antonio canyon through the town of Mt. Baldy to the Ice House Canyon trailhead. The trail followed up the canyon bottom along the beautiful little stream. The canyon was totally covered in snow. Making it look and feel, just like it's name implies, like an Ice House! Working my way up the canyon I passed several little cabins that are still in use. Up farther I passed some stone ruins of old cabins no longer in use. Just passed the last of those I entered the boundary of the Cucamonga wilderness and started the climb up passed Columbine springs to the Ice House saddle!

1.jpg
Hiking up Ice House Canyon

321350_524510194246790_1443345107_n.jpg
Old stone cabin ruins and some big Jeffery pines

19395_524510244246785_1554600146_n.jpg
Cucamonga Wilderness boundary sign

397993_524510324246777_1081899717_n.jpg
Working my way up canyon

6636_524510637580079_785471528_n.jpg
Getting to Ice House saddle

The climb up to the saddle was steep, but the snow conditions were great. I took a quick break at the saddle and I met a few other hikers that had come up the Chapman trail. I chatted with them for a bit and then started the climb from the saddle up to the top of Timber mountain. Once again it was quite steep, but nothing requiring my ice axe. I worked my way up through the snow eventually arriving at the summit! The actual summit is covered in trees that block all the views, but I was able to find a point just below the summit that had some excellent views! I setup my hammock in a couple trees there and just kicked back and relaxed and took it all in. It was such a perfect day!

408516_524510670913409_86331510_n.jpg
Trail sign at Ice House saddle

424173_524510927580050_1774279655_n.jpg
Climbing Timber Mountain

251818_524510987580044_1987715888_n.jpg
Climbing Timber Mountain

208262_524511034246706_1735993485_n.jpg
Climbing Timber Mountain

22006_524511150913361_485392207_n.jpg
Getting to the top!

424017_524511007580042_1419712060_n.jpg
Views of Telegraph peak and Mt. Baldy

74982_524511167580026_988472184_n.jpg
Views of Ontario peak and Ice House Canyon

385181_524511190913357_1659921625_n.jpg
More views from the point

After relaxing in the hammock all afternoon I headed back down to the saddle. From there I decided to take the Chapman trail down. It's a little bit longer but it ends back down in Ice House canyon as well. I got back to the trailhead just after dark. Feeling tired, but fulfilled from a long but amazing day in the San Gabriel mountains!!

timber map.png
click to view map large

And that's it for this California mountain adventure!

timberthanks.png

mountaindivider.jpg

*all photos by @derekrichardson

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 34.245734 lat -117.592819 long Timber Mountain d3scr)
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

Nice spot. I want to take my kids up somewhere near by to play in the snow. Now that we finally got some rain in. 😁 Do you have any spots to recommend that is not to much of a drive from Pasadena area. It is tuff to go on long drive with small children. I was thinking of Mt. Waterman or somewhere near by so it’s not to much of a drive but not familiar with the trails and picnic areas.

Ice House canyon isn't too far from Pasadena. Probably 45-50 minutes. Take the 210W and exit Baseline in Claremont and then go right on Padua and go up to Mt. Baldy rd. Go right and follow it up the canyon through the town of Mt. Baldy to Ice House canyon rd. When you turn on Ice House canyon rd there is a big parking lot right there for the trailhead. There's some nice places up by Mt. Waterman too though. Cooper canyon, Buckhorn, Chilao, Snow Crest, Islip saddle, Vincent gap. A bunch of really cool areas up there. There's snow up at Crystal lake right now too. That area is really cool. To get up there you take highway 39 north from Azusa and go all the way up to just before the 39 ends and make a right on Crystal lake rd. and you're there.

Thanks for the suggestions. Hopefully we get some more snow on the mountains before next weekend so I could take them up there. The kids are all pretty young they just want to play in the snow, my 2 little ones haven’t seen snow yet. Cant wait for their reactions once we go up there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 10% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

🎁 Hi @derekrichardson! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: #Themorningbowl Meets Butter Ball Bean Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Never heard about this mountain before but looks so refreshing and amazing! :)

Timber mountain is relatively unknown, especially compared to the popularity of Mt. Baldy just north of it. It was a great hike and it's always so refreshing to get out in the mountains!

Oh, I love that feeling! You have my respect for promoting less known places - like this one. <3

The images immediately produced this mind flash:

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

I've never seen it, but it looks cool! I'll have to check it out. Thanks @jaichai!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

whaaaat so there's a snow in Cali? :D haha I always think just of Venice when I hear California :D

Ya, most people think of the beach when they think of Cali but we've got some awesome mountains here too. And right now there's a ton of snow up there. It's been a really nice ski season here this winter!

That's crazy hiking in the snow like that. !tip

Well... I'm a little bit crazy! lol. I love getting out in the snow. It's a lot of fun if you're prepared. Thanks for the tip!

Wow. That's a cool trek.

I've threatened to get a hammock for ease and packability but I end up in no tree zones so often that I just haven't.

Thanks for a really great look at some 'fresh territory' for me.

Ya, I'm actually not a big hammock guy. I often find myself carrying it to just not even use it. It was definitely nice to have that day though so I could kick back and enjoy the scenery without sitting my butt on the cold wet snow!

This is really amazing! Your beautiful photos place us right there with you viewing that magnificent scenery! How long have you been climbing? Do you do it to capture this gorgeous scenery?

Thanks for sharing ~

Thanks @crosheille! I've been climbing mountains for over 26 years now. The scenery is of course a big part of why I do it, but it's really a part of a whole package. It's the challenge, the danger, it's the freedom, the wild, it's the fresh air, the sounds, the smells, the peacefulness. It's all these things. It's quite addicting actually. You could say I'm a mountainaholic. lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86