My La Sardina analogue camera

in #photography6 years ago

My wife bought me this little gem quite a few years ago. I used to be really into shooting film and I just loved how these super simple, cheap, plastic cameras functioned and looked. It's actually modeled off of an actual sardine can, hence the name: La Sardina.

La Sardina-2.jpg

La Sardina-3.jpg

I love how simple and basic it is. It has a simple viewfinder, which basically just approximates the field of view, but you don't actually see what the lens does. It has the most incredibly basic zone focusing system I've ever seen. Zone focusing for those that don't know is when you basically look at the distance from you to your subject, estimate what that distance is, and then set the distance on the focus ring of the lens. Well the zone focus on this camera has a little image of a fly for close, and a little image of a group of three people for far. Pick one, or somewhere in the middle, and hope it's close hahaha.

La Sardina-4.jpg

Being close works with this camera because the lens has an immovable aperture set at a constant f8, so you have quite a large depth of field to work with.

La Sardina-5.jpg

La Sardina-7.jpg

Speaking of the lens, it too, along with almost every single other part of this camera, is indeed made of plastic! Oh man, can you even imagine? It's so lo-fi it doesn't even need glass man, hahaha.

La Sardina-8.jpg

Anyhow, I love playing around with this little thing, and now that I've found a camera store in Barcelona that has film and chemistry, I might just start playing around with it a little more.

La Sardina-6.jpg

La Sardina-1.jpg

Sort:  

Some things just remains with us forever this is so nice and nostalgia memory :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11