Yaking Around in the Prodigy

in #photography6 years ago

Ever since I was a kid, I loved to be out on the water. I'm a terrible swimmer, but gliding along the top of it has always been just fine for me. I've spent countless hours in canoes, kayaks, small boats, sailboats, on jet skis and water skis, etc. I've been in many different vessels, but I never owned any type of watercraft of my own. I even went as far as getting my boating license back in my home state when I was a teen. So when I figured I'd have many opportunities to be on the water during my 14K mile road trip this summer, I knew it was time to purchase something to float around in.

I picked up an orange Prodigy kayak from Perception a couple of weeks ago and have taken it out a handful of times already. All I've been asking myself is "why didn't I do this sooner?" I've been in Alaska nearly four years now, the land of three million lakes (take that, Minnesota!), and I have either rented boats or didn't even get on the water at all. Which looking back now, was a tragedy of sorts. Thankfully though, I've recently come to my senses and I won't be missing any more chances to get out and enjoy the water.

In Alaska, we're fortunate enough to have a ton of glaciers; somewhere in the neighborhood of 100,000. Many of our rivers and lakes are glacier fed, giving them a nice teal/blue color. With my orange kayak and the color of the glacier water, I thought it would make for some great contrast in a photo. Needless to say, I'm very happy with what we got. Check out some of the shots below!


1JUN18-13.jpg
4.5 mm | f/2.8 | 1/45s | ISO 100


1JUN18-6.jpg
16 mm | f/4.5 | 1/200s | ISO 320


1JUN18-14.jpg
4.5 mm | f/2.8 | 1/65s | ISO 100


1JUN18-11.jpg
4.5 mm | f/2.8 | 1/370s | ISO 102


1JUN18-9.jpg
4.5 mm | f/2.8 | 1/60s | ISO 107


I hope you enjoyed the photographs!

Thank you,

Dimitri

Sort:  

This is amazing! Love the simplicity of that first shot. Resteemed.

Yeah, that first shot is an absolute cracker. Drones have opened up a view that we rarely got before. I really need to get one of those things.

For sure! Such cool perspective.

Thank you!! :) The moment I saw the composition, I knew I needed to capture it.

Good call! It's awesome!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-07T05:15:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 91.31/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow amazing. so awesome

Holy shit, this looks like a hell of a fun. Great pictures!

Thanks!!!! :D It was a great time.

Wow! This is a jaw dropping set of photos! I have yet to go kayaking and this makes me even more excited!

Resteemed!

Thank you very much! Yeah, get out and explore as soon as you can.

That first shot is amazing. Love it. Nothing like getting out on the water.

You're right. The feeling of gliding along out there is incredible!

You're right. The feeling
Of gliding along out there
Is incredible!

                 - dimitri0610


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Beautiful photos, mate, and WOW what an environment you live in. Not that the cold would suit this sub-tropical Aussie... ;)

Thank you! I'm lucky to live up here; this place just keeps giving and giving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04