SteemCampUK 2019 - LeicestersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Well, what a day it was yesterday! A swift 2 hour drive and I was back in my old University town of Leicester, remembering the fun times and also seeing how much it has changed in 15 years! It was great to be back. It's still full of fried chicken shops.

The main event though was for SteemCampUK, organised by @shanibeer and @lloyddavis. I came with an eager, clear mind and was willing to learn and excited to meet others. To be honest, my main reason was to meet, face to face, other UK Steemians as I was keen to see who the people of the community were. I didn't know what the rest of the day was going to be about but I did want to talk about drones... @ashtv and @rod.crisafulli curated and captured the event with their professional cameras 😎


@ashtv capturing the meeting

The first part of the day was meeting, catching up and discussing the issues and things that were the most important to us in order to give a little structure to the day. For me, my biggest issue is onboarding of new people to the Steem blockchain and how we can assist those that take an interest. As I've learnt first hand, it can be pretty difficult to get into it and to understand the ecosystem. @revisesociology told me about Steem Onbaording - who knew! (not me but I will pass this on!). I caught up with @redrica and @slobberchops who I'd been interacting with on the blockchain recently and was introduced to @goblinknackers, the Steemian who has the crown for the BEST and most ridiculous name of us all! It was great to meet @teodora and @gillianpearce too, more people with similar interests and much to talk about.

The business development and learning part of the day came mostly from @starkerz of @oracle-d who gave an in-depth discussion on the Steem Business Alliance and some of their on-going projects. I expect some great stuff to come from that direction and who knows, we may well be involved too. From our discussions, my main learning on the day was that the Steem blockchain can, and is about so much more than just blogging and being rewarded and that it can offer a brilliant business ecosystem. Further to that, @knightswood, a member of the local council attended to gain an understanding of how the Steem blockchain could benefit the local community. I am sure that there are many possibilities and the UK Steem community can help with that.

The day left me feeling like there is a solid and friendly bunch of Steem folk in the UK. As we were leaving and getting some group photographs I couldn't resist but get a drone shot of us all 😀

It was great to meet you all. Next time!

A major observation of Leicester 'these days' - the graffiti is of a much high standard now! Not the typical tagging! And my favourite....


Everyone's favourite alcoholic robot?


💲💵 MAKE MONEY with your photography and video 💵💲

🌎🏠 Live RENT FREE / FREE HOLIDAYS by house-sitting 🌎🏠

⛏ Mine JSE Coin in your web browser & website ⛏


Steemit Main Body Banner.jfif

Dronegraphica Website
Facebook
Instagram
All images are my own and If you like them please upvote, follow, comment, ask questions or get some discussion going, It’d be great to hear from you!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress

Sort:  

Event like SteemCampUK bring tremendous value

Face-To-Face Interactions Can Never Be Replaced By Technology

Looking forward to meeting you all with STEEMFeast 4

Your 7 press up meme found me at SteemCAmp UK thanks to @reversesociology and @steevec. Best of luck with it! I think it will really take off!

Thanks a participating in 7 PushUps (SEVEN77)

Appreciate your encouragement and I’ve few crazy executions ideas for SEVEN77 when I come back to London this month

LMK! maybe we can meet to discuss

Hell yes. Look forward to meeting you too sometime in the near future.

Posted using Partiko Android

The pictures from above are really awesome. Lovely to meet you as well

Posted using Partiko Android

hey @dronegraphica! great meeting you Chris! looking forward to more collaborations in the future!

Sure! Hit me up for drone stuff :)

So glad to finally meet the person behind @dronegraphica! Very lovely chatting with you, I'm sure we will meet again soon :)

The drone pics are very cool! Will try to organize the next Meetup at an open field so we can have a go with your drone Haha ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

With some nice weather too :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope to see you at the next event, great write up!

Great drone photos, although there is thing, which you must be very aware of, that we're clearly 'looking at the drone' rather than 'posing for a photo' - I guess it makes sense!

Leicester seemed like a nice enough place, based on my very narrow experience of the city. The Graffiti was a high quality for sure.

See you at the next one, which will hopefully not be that far off!

Normally it's difficult to work out who's who in photos of people you don't know , but luckily yours was a bit of a giveaway!

Your name has cropped up in a few different places recently so I guess I'd better go check out your blog soon.

You get a total view with a drone :) if you visit my blog I'd be keen to hear what you think!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the graffiti of Bender!
Great to meet you, look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Love the drone pics, nice end to the day.

Congratulations @dronegraphica! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great overview mate. Fantastic to meet you in real life - you’re an excellent bloke, and indeed it was really interesting to talk about drones. I really appreciate your skills.
I think you’ve got a unique angle to bring to STEEM with your drone work too.
The group shot is fantastic!

Thanks for a good day, video coming soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87