Weekend Wander - The Salt Marshes of North NorfolksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

📸 Camera: DJI Mavic Pro (+ Polar Pro ND Lenses)
🌐 Location: Brancaster, North Norfolk, UK

I am a lover of the North Norfolk coast. As you drive towards the north coast of East Anglia and leave the towns to the small flint-knapped cottages of North Norfolk, you just relax a bit more. For me its instantaneous. I begin to images living here a hundred years ago and just how cut off you'd be from most places... We left in our good old VW T2 Camper, loud, slow and patinated (i'll do a blog post on Ari sometime!). Occasionally I would pull over to allow the column of cars behind to pass 😀


Nature Reserve - Brancaster

We came to visit Brancaster and explore the coast near by. There are lots of popular walks and apparently its great for bird watching - something I don't do... habitually. We'd been to Stiffkey before, not far to the east which was an incredible place to stay and to fly.

Our bus and bed was Ari. I've blogged about taking this beast a few times - its great and a real work out to drive. We got the corner section of the campsite, the cheap and very well presented Deepdale Backpackers and Camping site. Perhaps they thought we were going to be loud?...


Ari - our well-used accommodation

On Saturday with the massive coffee cravings we usually get we went to Wells-Next-The-Sea, an extremely popular (parking is a nightmare) coastal town and get a coffee from Grey Seal - their coffee comes HIGHLY recommended. I did a bit of Steem work and my partner did some phone staring. It was very modern cafe visit. We left there and visited Holkham Hall, a great big estate and stately home in the countryside. Holkham Hall is famous for the development of modern agricultural methods of farming, one of which is crop rotation. Whilst wandering around I found a big deer antler, which I quickly picked up to attach to Ari. I'm not quite sure what I'll do with it yet... Any ideas?


Ari the bus

The weather was OK for our stay, but visibility pretty poor. On the Sunday, I decided that should it not be raining at the crack of dawn (6am) I'd go out and play with the drone. As I got there early, the only thing that hindered me was the dog walkers, most of which were interested to see the drone, so I obliged (I like it when that happens). However, upon getting the drone up and to a height of 120m, it seemed that all the water fowl and birds in the whole of the east of England wanted to come and hang around the reserve and shout at each other... I don't like to interfere with nature when I fly, but I had no choice. I had to take my photos, get my videos and then manoeuvre the drone back without pissing every other flying thing in the area. This is difficult when sea gulls are also about! They are bigger than my Mavic Pro and much more mean! Anyway, I just *ignored* the gulls, which a much increased heart rate and continued anyway. A bird would have to be of spartan quality to attack a loud, mean whirring thing in mid air, and it didn't this time. Some of the shots I got are below and paint a pretty good picture of what the coastal environment is like here. Its rugged and wild.





The visibility pretty poor, as you can tell from the photos and there were no rays of sunshine to illuminate the landscape and give that warm feeling and colour. It was however very liberating to wake up early and have a fly about and study the meandering streams of the mudflats. I'd recommend the north Norfolk coastline to anyone who has not been before. It's beautiful, fairly wild, haven to wildlife, home to great beaches and the sunsets can be AWESOME.


Early morning view of the Salt Marshes at Brancaster

💲💵 MAKE MONEY with your photography and video 💵💲

🌎🏠 Live RENT FREE / FREE HOLIDAYS by house-sitting 🌎🏠

⛏ Mine JSE Coin in your web browser & website ⛏


Steemit Main Body Banner.jfif

Dronegraphica Website
Facebook
Instagram
All images are my own and If you like them please upvote, follow, comment, ask questions or get some discussion going, It’d be great to hear from you!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress
Sort:  

Great post! Love the deer antler on your Van. And your photos of the salt marsh are cool.

Heh. I couldn't belive it when I came across the antler! Doesn't happen often here

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION in collaboration with STEEMPRESS.
theunion.png

Congratulations @dronegraphica! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blzn88 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86