Shooter FPV Flight Log 110517 - Pomo Canyon Trail (Video)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

FL_110517_2.PNG

When I got to the Pomo Canyon trail head, I rigged up the alien 5 and had a look around.

This is the back entrance to the trail. You can also access the Pomo Canyon trail from the west where it crosses hwy 1.

Sonoma Magazine says, "Pomo Canyon Campground sits above the broad Willow Creek canyon, in a beautiful redwood grove. The Pomo Canyon Trail begins at the campground, and winds across the rolling coastal hills, skirting the north slope of Red Hill. The trail follows an ancient trading route of the Pomo and Miwok people. The path weaves through lush redwood forests, oak woodlands and open grasslands, crossing seasonal streams in route to the ocean at Shell Beach."
- http://www.sonomamag.com/pomo-canyon-trail/

Before I got to the Red Hill however, I wanted to have another go at flying through the trees.

Getting better, but I've still got aways to go before I'm speeding through the redwoods with Luke and Princess Leia.

FL_110517_5.PNG

AllTrails.com says the Pomo Canyon Trail, "includes some long and steady uphill segments right from the start, with the only level areas along the ridge between the Hill, Willow Creek and the upper meadows," and they aren't joking. I very quickly realized that I was out of shape, and still not over this cold!

Half way to the top of Red Hill, I took a break to fly at this little bridge. The wind was cool, cold even, blowing over the top of Red Hill and then funneling down into the valley below.

Red Hill is just over a thousand feet above the sea level and when I climbed the rest of the way I was met head on by a 15 to 20 mile an hour wind blowing off the pacific ocean. It is the first time my hands have been cold while flying a drone

AllTrails.com also says, "Red Hill provides a series of trails climbing the tallest ridge just south of the Russian River on the coast. This exposed landscape of grasslands and chaparral provides plenty of sweeping vistas overlooking the mouth of the Russian River watershed, out to Jenner, and down to Bodega Head." - https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/california/pomo-canyon-red-hill-trail

FL_110517_4.PNG

I had one more full brick and found a spot to rig up in the wind shadow of Red Hill.

Getting carried away I thought it would be cool if I hugged the outside of the hill. I turned the corner, and lost the drone.

Took 10 minutes to find the gopro, and I managed to shatter an fpv lens. Just happy I found the gopro. I've lost 2 of these suckers so far!

FL_110517_1.PNG

Thanks for coming along with me on the Pomo Trail. Check out the links shared in the blog post for more information. Thanks for watching!

#curie
#promo-steem
#ShooterFPV
#EdwardSeaton

Sort:  

great post thanks . I am a drone enthusiast also. Trying to be more cinematic

yeah, this little drone is still not tuned just right so you get a so shakes and wobbles that I still don't like. I started with the dji stuff but once I crashed it and couldn't fix it I knew I had to build it... surprising easy to build. Also, this is the cheap GoPro which doesn't have the best quality footage. I'll buy the 4k one when I stop flying her into the dirt ;)

Still looks great with the go pro you have .

I just love this vlog. Nice flying my friend. Flying in the woods is really really hard.

Thank you so much! Flying is getting better. I'm still really new to the drone scene. I built the one I'm flying in this video about 6 months ago. The goal is to become a Drone Jedi ;)

Hehe yes. Yeah, Drone Jedi sounds good :D

Amazing

Good one. Excellent post. Thanks for sharing.

my pleasure! Thanks for the support

Awesome video man! Watched the whole thing & loved the star wars tribute. How do you like the Alien 5? Is it a good entry level fpv drone? Im still flying my DJI spark which is super fun, but not as fast as FPV.

Also how is the Russian River not in Russia? lol 😁

I can recommend the Alien 5, too. One of the best FPV frames.

to be honest, it's the only one I really know, so I have no idea if its the best, but I found the tutorials for the building process to be tip top! I got most of my inspiration from this dude: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQEqPV0AwJ6mQYLmSO0rcNA and he flies the Alien 5. If Mr. Steele likes it. I like it ;)

Totally agree. Mr. Steele is the man in this game :D

Ha! thanks for watching, man! Loving the little Alien 5. I basically started flying this guy about 6 months ago, so its not too hard. I've still got a ways to go though. The Rotor Riot website was very helpful when I was building it. Yeah, the Russian River, ery few Russians out here now, but they were here way back when for trapping and hunting :)

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

Congratulations @edwardseaton, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 727 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2831.61. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75