The Kid In Me Loves The Steam Train

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Yes, this is the very vehicle that owns those spare parts I've featured a post before this one. Those spare parts are well taken cared of and carefully checked before any of them are allowed to go to avoid getting derailed since the train itself isn't very young like the many of its passengers.

Don't worry, I wasn't trying to do as Kara Nina did, it's just a mere shoefie. I was hoping I could get a decent shot of my shoes while this chu - chu -ing giant was moving. It didn't take just one frame btw.

a1.jpg

I have always wanted to do this from the very time, I first saw one of these steam trains drive by while we were taking one of our strolls on my first years here. Why? It's as shallow a reason as I've never been on one cause we don't have this in the Philippines anymore and now that one actually still exists here, I grabbed the chance to do so instead of forever wondering what its like.

This giant is far from being a centennial old so it's pretty young actually. Almost everything were kept as they were. My husband and a friend were allowed to see the kettle where they throw all those coals. I am allowed to do so, too but I dolled myself up to just get coal on me huh, so I didn't go up there and just drooled at the fact that they did, the drama of the OC.

b.jpg

Most of the passengers were kids and though there were also almost the same numbers of those that are young at hearts, there were just more kids. They were all allowed to climb on the captain's caboose. Just like the Steem train, everybody's welcome on board. Well, that's the feeling we got. They even have this wheel chair and bike friendly entrance. Cool huh?

f.jpg

The moment it let out its whale's scream like - siren, the young and old ran on the windows and before I knew it, I was sharing the window with some kids watching those red wheels go like legs of galloping horses. They're beautiful to watch, just like those model steam trains.

Whether there's a first class caboose like we do here in the Steem train, I don't know but surely, everyone may just walk from one caboose after the other as long as they have tickets to show the inspectors. Everyone gets asked whether they'd like to have some coffee or a bite of something for the trip. My husband and I had coffee and cheese bread while everyone else in our caboose seem to have brought their whole fridge's content which I think is a lot better cause then you know exactly what you're eating!

I went around checking out what it looks like inside. I love the vintage feel of every little detail that it has on it, from the doors in the restaurant, to the old fashioned luggage that were displayed, the seats and the trick that we were taught of on how to open those windows to let the cool air in our caboose. I had to go to the loo and found out that I had to wait till we are going fast before I could use it and I only got to understand why when I was inside. You will be literally taking a leak on the rails that's why. Lol on that!

c.jpg

That day, we found out that it was taking a lot of passengers to their work, relatives they want to visit and some - back home from work. It's amazing to have a train like this to this day. The ambiance is just different. I haven't really seen any unhappy face not even from those probably tired from a long day of work. The the kids' laughter seem to overwhelm the place, their happiness is but contagious.

We passed by a lot of fields and more old Steam trains. We also found out that there are even days where we can have lunch on it (pancake on the menu). Every time it goes on a halt to let some other vehicles pass by, people on bike and onlookers seem to have a hard time resisting taking our pictures, okay I admit - not really our picture but the train's, it's just that our heads just happen to be sticking out of the windows looking at those tires and the smoke coming out of it.?

b2.jpg

One stop over was in front of a village restaurant full of customers who all stood up to take more pics of it and probably even some videos. My friend and I, kid the waiter, we ordered a slice of an apple pie and some coffee, they're a good sport though, they were all just smiles, seemingly happy at the sight of this chu, chu-ing giant.

We just went back and forth and I have to admit, even though the train is pretty old, it was a very comfortable and safe ride. I liked it a lot every time it goes; "Chu - Chu!" and the kids would echo it. When we finally arrived at the last station, we saw more of them old steam train cockpits.

b3.jpg

On the way back, we watched the head caboose take off and attach itself on the other end. At that time, I went to the end of the caboose it was attached to and found this.

e.jpg

I wonder why there's a wet piece of wood in each bucket and I didn't get to ask. Perhaps they're preventing it from getting tipped over. You, any idea what those piece of wood doing in there?

d.jpg

Would I ever ride it again? Yes and it's because they go on different routes and I've just taken one. I wonder what I'd get to see on the other ones. The next time I get to do it, I'd bring some wipes so I could go up that caboose where the boiler is (if that's what you call it) so that even if like our captain, I get coal on my nose, I could just wipe it off and clean myself up.

a2.jpg

I would want to try take as many rides as I can while it's alive cause I'm satisfied with it and the treatment I got from the people working on it. They were all very kind and accommodating. I can't imagine entertaining so many of the many same questions which I heard the many of them patiently answer. They take care of their clients very nicely, kind'a remind me of the first time I stepped on board this Steem train, everyone seemed so amicable or at least trying to be and yes, the adult that I am loved that more than what it's like right now.

As for the kid in me, she sure had a blast riding this steam train.

This content's 100% mine . I took these pics with my D Eye. Don't like reading? Watch video in my VLOG instead.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



FOLLOW ME - @englishtchrivy.

Sort:  

Hi @englishtchrivy

I wanted to drive with steam train again

As a child, I was by steam train to Oslo with my mother to visit my grandmother.

I enjoyed myself every time.

And then an ice cream often came to me when we got to the train station :)

Seeing that you're on the go, nice with your cartoon friends

sounds like a beautiful memory !

thank you for sharing that with us!
an ice cream would be a nice way to finish :D

yes, too many kids that day
sometimes, they can't help but smile and look at the cam :D
very naughty and hyper haha

Yes, that's right, but it was not every time I got an ice cream, hehe

As always a thoroughly enjoyable read with great photos. I think you've become my Steemit hero now Ivy... one of my favourite Originals whose blog is still and always worthwhile stopping by! Plus it looks like you're having fun and that makes me glad :-) Sorry for disappearing lately but I will keep coming to check on you and vote too even if I don't get time to post myself! Lotsa love xx

hi Joana, it's always nice to hear from an old friend

Thank you for the kind words, that's really sweet of you to say that .. am but a humble blogger here and always shall be.

Yes, am having fun cause YOLO .. rather IOLO :D

I noticed you were indeed a bit offline for a long time
but I suppose it has something to do with that big M .. you told me about
I hope all is well and everything's going smooth.

One thing's sure, am sure glad to see your comment tonight
and I hope to read more often from you soon, just keep going !

Take care and I send you & Sky the warmest cyber hugs!

edit: PS, I appreciate your support!

I love steam trains sure they are not as comfortable as the new trains but they have such character and feel to them

me, too
they sure do
I love the sound it makes

only the toilet isn't comfortable
the rest were okay
not advisable for the winter though ...
I don't think anyone would want to open that window in that case :D

are you having trouble casting your vote?
like .. it's taking much time?
and if you click on an account it takes time to load and
so do the images on the posts?
I'm experiencing that atm
I can't seem to even cast a vote without refreshing the page sighs

YEs I am finding it quite slow tonight for posts to load and sometimes votes fail,

okay, so it wasn't just me thank you for the confirmation
it got better atm
am almost drained though :D
am off to bed I guess
have a great day!

Cheers and have a good weekend

My country's government will revive the train and I hope to see it or hear it before I leave this earth @englishtchrivy

holy shit !
as if it's not polluted enough for us lol
in as much as I love the steam train I won't recommend having it in the Philippines
almost everything there already run in diesel
well, if they could come out with one that still sends out steam without using coal and diesel then way to go Digong!

The Philippines needed some added form of transportation and the pollution is the least of their worries as it needs to develop itself first before going greener.

Ah, a steam train! Was still thinking about another country. :-)

Been on a Steam train. Several times, think it was in Hoorn? And on small ones. =D Here they have one in the neighbourhood between Veendam and Stadskanaal. Never been on that one. It's on my bucketlist now.

go ye and enjoy the ride
cause life isn't just the net toch :D

True, real life is way more exciting. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73