Wanna Go to the Circus? - part 1

in #photography6 years ago

sir3.jpg

That is the text I got from my friend this afternoon, a women in her thirties. First thought was that she had the wrong number, next thought that she must have lost her mind. But no, she wanted to go to the circus with me. The overthinker in me ran to the other way, imagining screaming children, clowns and bad juggling acts, sounds like a waste of money, time and mental health. The I thought that I have been cooped up in my apartment a little too much and I was feeling pretty good and chill, so I though what the hell, let's do it, it can't be that bad.

And it wasn't, it was actually pretty damn good, no Circque de Soleil, but I was very pleasantly surprised!


My friend reserved us pretty good seats so I had a good view with my camera. I initially thought that I might not even bring it, but I'm glad I did because I think I got some pretty awesome shots. Never pass a photography opportunity, it's so much fun to practice my photography skills on very different circumstances than normally.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8.

sir1.jpg
Look at that little fair haired boy with dimples and a huge smile, he is going to be such a heartbreaker when he grows up!

sir4.jpg

sir5.jpg

sir6.jpg

sir7.jpg

sir8.jpg

sir2.jpg
I wish everyone could still keep looking at amazing things as adults with the same sort of wonder in their eyes as this little girl.

Sort:  

You did well taking photographs in such low light. I haven't been to a circus in a couple of decades. They don't at all look like what I remember.

I was actually surprised myself too, I used ISO 1000 for most pictures and aperture around 2.5, seems to work out pretty nicely! :) What do you remember them looking like? I'm sure every circus is different though.

I just remember lots hf animals and clowns to be honest. I remember feeling sorry for the animals. They didn’t look happy.

Nice photography, Eve. I especially loved the last one!
Your posts are tempting me to get myself a camera and start shooting, and I'm not kidding! :O

More photography is always a good idea!

Great photos. It is always a challenge to take action photos in such low light but you did very well! Have never been to a circus, I might go after seeing this:)

I have to say that the lighting crew on the circus were doing their job very well, everything was spot on, made my "job" much easier! :)

That's awesome, I got to go to one of the last Ringling Brothers circuses before the goddamned animal rights activists put them out of business, it was spectacular. We brought a neighbor who is an animal rights activist and she thought she was going to totally hate it but she ended up loving it too.

The only animals this show had were one horsey and a couple birdies, I'm sure they were all doing good. The people in the circus probably suffer a lot more for their craft, but damn they seemed to enjoy what they do. Everyone had huge genuine smiles on their faces all throughout their acts, it's was such a joy to see!

What becomes pretty clear watching the guy in the cage with 20 lions and tigers is that if he mistreated them or pissed them off in any way they would shred his ass in a second.

The more we are okay with right now, whatever it may be, the more we can notice fine details of life and be amazed... Maybe. Then, when the circus comes to town, BAM, even more amazed... Maybe.

The better you look the more you see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87