Have a bite

in #photography6 years ago

Come on.. its very refreshing :D

This giant grows in my neighborhood. One of the spots I like to go to shoot some wild blooming flowers and bugs. It is almost at the edge of our town, neat the water and some gardens... nice quiet-ish spot.
I often see the garden corners or near fences too. Not an easy thing to grow in the garden if you don't have lots of space. This thing can grow REALLY big!

Opuntia big bite.jpg

I just wish I remembered to go and check on this Opuntia when it blooms. I saw fruits. But I keep missing the flowers.

Opuntia big 1.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/5, 1/400, ISO250)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Well, not those, but you can actually eat the young leaves that these produce, they are called Nopales. One day I'll try it with the ones growing on the hill

I think optuntia leaves are used in Mexican kitchen... now that you mention eating them I think I saw it on some program.

after googling session
Yep.. its the Nopales :)

Going to try it this spring. I love eating different vegetables

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11