The lazy white one - Echinopsis subdenudata

in #photography6 years ago

It skipped this years blooming, so I had to dig out some photos from last year where I had two, most amazing, humongous flowers!
I just got it few months before and it was the first time I saw it in bloom outside Google Galleries :p

Echinopsis subdenudata flower 3.jpg

Look at them. They were the size of an orange! Each flower was bigger than the cactus itself. No idea how they manage to push those things to bloom. Maybe that is why they only last 1 day! Showing off with those big babies would cost the little plant a lot of energy (still a bit of a waste...).

Echinopsis subdenudata flower 2.jpg

This year it is just growing...
I think it might have had too much sun over the winter, so it didn't have that proper rest period. Last year I basically ditched it on the dark shelve between other post and forgot about it.
He got scared I am gonna kill him and bloomed to show me he is worth keeping... smartass

Echinopsis subdenudata flower 1.jpg

Sort:  

I was amazed when mine bloomed: such a huge trumpet on such a tiny little cactus

I know, right?
I didn't think they are gonna be this big.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

The scent!
I love the scent of subdenudata!!!
I have 6 of them and want more, just because of that adorable fragrance..

So it is scented...
Why do I keep forgetting to smell them? Why?
I keep smelling all the orchid flowers, but not used to check cacti flowers. Next time I guess..

Does it bloom at night?
How many days does it blossom?

Just one. At least for me. It opened at night and then was open all day and by the next night it was already dying :(

It's good that he is open during the day!
So you can breathe in his scent!

Wow! I think cactus flowers are the prettiest... I guess that's why they only last a day... :(
Gorgeousness can only be enjoyed a little bit at a time, so we don't take them for granted... :))

Yea... now imagine being away for that one day, you come back and it is all kaput :p
Waiting for a few months for the bud to grow and then miss it. Tricky little plants...

Beauty!!!
And even fragrant !!!!!
Super!
I always smell flowers. How can you miss their scent!
I like large flowers, but small ones too.

I don't know how :D I want to take so many photos that I don't smell them. And I don't remember noticing anything.

:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71