They are all pink!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

This is a very common cactus that I see often in supermarkets. One of those times I couldn't resist it and took one home with me. Nothing fancy, but the way the little white spines grow like tiny feathers and then those big, dark hooks emerge from the center was irresistible.
I got it last fall, repoted it from the crappy commercial soil, gave her lots of sand, rocks and left it outside on the sun, rain and cold winter nights. To my surprise it decided to bloom already :)
Abuse them and they will love it :p

Mammillaria bombycina



Mammillaria bombycina flowers 4.jpg

Looks like all the cacti that I have in bloom right now are pink :p (I know someone who will love it). I saw photos of this type with more beige flowers and even darker spines. Lovely combination.

Mammillaria bombycina flowers 2.jpg

Mammillaria bombycina flowers 3.jpg

I am hoping that it will start growing some offshoots soon after the blooms are gone. Having five... six... ten of those in the same pot, blooming all together is a dream.

Mammillaria bombycina flowers 1.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/29, 1/200, ISO500)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Amazing photo :) Cheers :)

Mammillaria do thrive on abuse!

Pink is abusing! Pink is evil!

I have always liked cactus plants and strangely enough I have never had one myself, these fabulous shots makes me want to go but one

Eh.... pink...

But... but...

Handsomely!
Because you do not care for him, he blooms to make you angry :-)))
I have such a cactus.

Hahaha Cheeky cactus!

Yes, they are! :-)))

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.396 which ranks you at #2339 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 188 contributions, your post is ranked at #85.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

fantastic , check out my daily cactus photos

Thanks! I'll have a look :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10