Flying with the Flock

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Wednesday I left my home to a beautiful piece of earth to be with 7 other incredible women who uplift, love and bring such acceptance to my soul. Walking through the doors of what will be my "home" for the next 5 days, was just like walking through the doors of my family.

I started a year long self development journey in January, where I have gotten to focus in on myself with different themes for each month. I had the opportunity with this beautiful journey to go to a retreat in the mountains of Utah.


IMG_3230.jpg


This years theme is "The Great Migration". We are learning about how geese fly to lift each other up, and swoop down to help another it is hurt. It is the most beautiful thing to learn about! We each set our intentions on what we wanted to learn or grow in during this time. And it gives a focus on how we will live for the next 5 days.

My intention for the year was to have more fun and less fear, my "word of the year" is discipline, and my intention for this retreat was to listen more and talk less. My heart has been so full this last few days, with hearing other women explain their stories of the paths they have walked in life. It is so humbling and beautiful to be surrounded by such strong, and sure women.

We walked through the home to find what would be our space for the next 5 days, when we walked up to this room, I KNEW it was for me to spend a lot of reflection time in and that it was meant for me.


IMG_3229.jpg

IMG_3223.jpg

IMG_3222.jpg


The first full day it rained, and I threw on my raincoat and ran outside. I jumped on the trampoline and just enjoyed being a kid again! It was a magical moment, the sounds of nature filling my ears while the wind whipped around my hair. The scent of rain hitting the soil, and the cool air bringing my hairs on my arms to a point. It was beautiful.

We went on a hike to the most beautiful area, a gorgeous little creek. I immediately ran to the water, and got my feet right it, it was invigorating from the extreme coolness that rushed through my feet. It was a tranquil area, that my sisters and I just sat and quietly enjoyed. The waters plowing past the giant log we sat on, and the butterflies flying past, it was so peaceful. The coolest thing about this experience at the creek, is this. I ran down to the water and just got in, I didn't think about it, I didn't hesitate. I just did it. I got the most amazing photos from just going in. Just 8 months ago, I wouldn't have just jumped in, I would have thought about it and lost the opportunity to fall into a tranquil coma surrounded by nature.

IMG_3271.jpg

We came home and prepared for dinner, we spoke about what our experiences were like on our hike, and then gathered around a table outside. Surrounded by hummingbirds flitting wildly past singing their sweet high pitched songs. Celebrating our Migration together as women.

A woman came to the home we are staying and shared her stunning talent of using guides, singing bowls, her incredible voice, and spirit. To safely lead us to a deep cleansing of our bodies and souls. I had the most unforgettable experience during the time with this magical woman. My heart was mended through this musical journey from a hurt that has been with me for 16 years. It was glorious!!

IMG_3289.jpg

My heart is so incredibly full and I am so grateful to be on this meticulously thought out retreat. I am so grateful for my supportive husband and children, who stand behind me and cheer me on to my potential.

This was a long post, that barely scratched the surface of what I am feeling. Thank you all who stuck by and read it and enjoyed by post. All the photos were taken by me.

Namaste'

Sort:  

Some stunning shots there so good

Thank you!! I am learning from the best mentor around!!

What a great goal you have for this year. It takes a lot of courage to do such things and I'm glad to hear that you found it.

I can sense so much joy and excitement from your post. I loved that you jumped on the trampoline or went straight to the water. You are right. We think too much and lose those moments that we would have if we would just do things.

I wish you a lot of fun during the rest of your adventure!

Have a lovely day!

Thank you! It was a beautiful, and rejuvenating experience for sure!!!

hi dear @faitherz33, beautiful post!
when I read your words

My intention for the year was to have more fun and be less afraid

I got the chills. that's exactly what I've been looking for for some time, I'm kind of off and I'm so tired! what kind of path did you decide to do at the beginning to lift you up? are they yoga and meditation techniques or something else?
I hope all the best for you :-))

Sorry for the late reply, I took a week after my retreat to readjust to reality and soak in what lessons I learned. I first read/listened to the book "Dressing your Truth" by Carol Tuttle, this helped to honor my true energy type (fun and goofy) this took me 2 years to find and honor this true energy of mine. Lots of childhood trauma and energy squashing took place as a kid. For example "settle down, why do you keep laughing, stop talking, ect.. ect.." So I learned not to be fun or goofy anymore. And I settled into my secondary energy to be taken more seriously. I found myself lost and spinning out of control, I am very grateful I had read/listened to the book!! Then, I forced myself to skip, do cartwheels, play with bubbles, and play the lava game with different color squares of carpet at work :) . Now, it is becoming more comfortable and less like making myself do it. It just comes naturally. I love having fun, and I enjoy making people laugh!! Sooo, yeah. It has been a fantastic journey with lots of inner self healing and self love happening! Still have lots of heart work to do, but I am in the right direction.

Hi faitherz33,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so very much!!!! I appreciate your support and love!!

This sounds amazing and it is so important for women to get together, support one another and lift one another up. Hearing you re connect with nature again and with your inner wildness is so beautiful. So glad you put your feet in that stream, water is so healing. Thank you for sharing this journey with us all xxx

Thank you! It truly was a magical week!! I disappeared for a little bit after the retreat :) . So much to ponder and grow

Congratulations @faitherz33! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75