A Look inside the Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris

in #photography6 years ago


20151026IMG_1283 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

I have been posting images from outside the Notre-Dame, from down the street, the rooftops .. I wasn't allowed in their catacombs (if they even have any) but I haven't posted from within.. soooooooo..... here are some shots from inside!


20151026-IMG_1272 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20151026-IMG_1269 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20151026-IMG_1264 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20151026-IMG_1257 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

I hope you don't mind that I kept the commentary out of this one. There isn't much to say except .. 'here's another archway', 'look some light hitting a wall' blah blah .. the important thing to think about (in my view) is the scale of the place and how they managed to build the thing. To answer that for you, it was started in 1163 and was completed in 1345. It took 200 years to build it.. can you imagine? People who started building it knew that they would never live to see it completed.. That must really suck.. but I bet it was good for job security.

So not only did it take 200 years to build, but it is 800 or so years old. They built things to last back then! Not like today where new houses are essentially made from tissue paper! I complain because it feels like I am forever fixing crap that breaks in my house.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-look-inside-the-notre-dame-cathedral-in-paris


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I hope you don't mind that I kept the commentary out of this one. There isn't much to say except...

Hello? This is spectacular! I must say that I am in love with the architecture, the world over, especially from days gone by. The arches are amazing and you have to wonder how they had the vision, the know-how, the thoughts that their project would ever be completed - and would it be in their vision?

I loved Notre-Dame, but, was totally surprised that it wasn't what I expected as I had read about it all my life and suddenly. it wasn't my vision, but, oh-so-much better! Sort of like the Mona Lisa. So unexpected!

Thank you for sharing. It is quite a wonderful post. And yes!! The light and your eye made it pretty special.

Upped and Steemed

Thanks so much @dswigle! I thought the same of the mona lisa, though i'd heard from many that it was underwhelming once you saw it as it deviated from your expectations, I found the new perspective quite wonderful too.

wow amazing place. It is huge too. I like interior of this.

Priceless shots. Thanks for sharing @fiftysixnorth

Full Powered Vote.gif

Magnificent photos! I got to attend an organ concert there many years ago and it was an incredible experience!

Oh wow, that would be an amazing experience! Super jealous! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Notre Dame is one of my favorite Cathedrals! Thank you for sharing!

My pleasure! Thanks for stopping by! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17