Class in Amsterdam in an unexpected place

in #photography6 years ago


20180729-IMG_7337.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Yes, this is an alleyway between shopping streets in central Amsterdam and it has all kinds of class. To me it looks like it has been ripped out of the palace and transplanted here. What pleases me most is that its so clean and completely free of vandalism or graffiti. Don't get me wrong, I love me some graffiti but in a place this lovely, graffiti would subtract from it, not add to it.


20180729-IMG_7336.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

This ceiling is stunning too.. I do an occasional series called 'scenic ceilings' that if I had a fish eye lens or wide lens with me, I would have used here .. but alas, it will need to wait until the next time I am in Amsterdam. Look at those lamps! In an alley! It's classy as hell which I find funny as this alleyway leads to the entrance of none other than primark!

For the uninitiated, Primark is one of those huge stores that sells every thing super cheap.. kinda like Wallmart. I can buy a shirt there for £8 or I can go to Marks and Spencer and buy a shirt for £30. But as it turns out ... you get what you pay for.. so I bought my shirt at Marks and Spencer.

I found the juxtaposition of the classy alleyway and it being an access point to a cheap mega-store quite amusing.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Primark is totally you get what you payed for ('goedkoop is duurkoop' as we say in dutch)

I hope you enjoyed amsterdam!

haha! That's a great expression and so true! I enjoyed Amsterdam very much thank you :) Its always nice to visit the homeland :)

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks steemitboard :)

I followed and up votes you. please followback @huanmv

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

That is absolutely fabulous - and alley way between buildings transformed into a Palace corridor - quite stunning and your Photography just enhances even more - the second photo has an awesome angle. Love it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks mate, it was indeed rather eye-catching.. I walked past it and did a double take .. then just had to get a pic :)

A very unique style of architecture, and shot this photo very nice.

And juxtaposition is the building block to great art!

I have a different strategy for shirts though, I recieve for free 'extra' used t-shirts from several family members. In this way I get what I don't pay for and my return on no investment is infinite! I have broken consumerism and the laws of mathematics at the same time!

lol! Thats a pretty good roi, but I'm not gonna wear a used t-shirt to a wedding :) Its gotta be a new shirt and the kind you can wear with a suit.

Ok, you got me there! ;p

I do a lot of outside work and my brain doesn't like paying for what is essentially a rag, or will be soon.

But life is full of weddings too ;p. Look dapper :)

haha! I have shirts like that too.. and I pay very little for those :) but sometimes you gotta suit up :)

Indeed friend!

Congrats on 60 rep!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82