Looking out over NYC - Sunset from the Top of the Rock

in #photography5 years ago


20181009-IMG_8048.jpg

Yesterday I was telling you about going up to the top of the rock for some stunning views. I also mentioned how it was kind of frustrating.. Well let me tell you about that while this lovely sunset soothes your soul!


20181009-IMG_8037.jpg

We intentionally booked tickets to get the sunset time slot because.. well I'm a photographer and going up there at any other time would have been blasphemy. Well we weren't the only ones that did so. Now as per the 'rules' you are only meant to spend 20 minutes up there so that every time slot group gets up there and has a decent chance at taking in the view. Well quite a few (hundreds) of people had the idea that they'd just get a much earlier time slot, then go up there, pick the best spot and park their asses there so no one else could enjoy the view!


20181009-IMG_8055.jpg

I took this shot with my fisheye lens.. as you can tell from the distortion.. see the two heads (a couple) on the left?. They were actually right in front of me most of the time. They stood there the ENTIRE sunset. They just stood there.. weren't taking pictures, were barely even taking in the view.. they were mostly talking to each other .. and they JUST WOULD NOT LEAVE. They really pissed me off. I made a few loud comments about how selfish and rude they were that I KNOW they could hear and I hope they bloody did hear what I said because it was just not cool.


20181009-IMG_8056.jpg

So yeah, those jerks nearly ruined the experience because there were a lot of other people there who would have appreciated the view, and you could tell they had come up way earlier and just stayed well beyond the allotted time they should have been there for. To be fair, everyone stayed longer than they should have which is also not cool (myself included oops!) but you get to a point where you think.. well everyone else is pissing all over the rules so why the hell should I not take advantage also? After all, no one was enforcing this rule. Anyway, I started balancing my camera over the guy's head with my camera strap slapping him in the side of the head.. (I can be such an ass.. but screw it).


20181009-IMG_8057.jpg

So yeah, it was rather frustrating, and at one point they did give me this look of 'how rude!' but I didn't care, they were selfish. I stayed at that spot after they left to get a few more shots as things got darker (i'll show you those tomorrow) and then I turned to see a young girl and her family who couldn't see a thing and no one was letting her in to see... So I waved her and her parents over, and said 'Here take my spot so you can see.' Then I made damn sure she was in place before I left. I could already see the vultures circling because some other guy tried to push past and into the spot I was vacating. I made sure he knew that wasn't happening with a strategic elbow in his ribcage. The little girl got to enjoy the view with her parents instead.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=looking-out-over-nyc-sunset-from-the-top-of-the-rock


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I apologize for the ugly American mentality. Ugh!

The view is spectacular and you got gorgeous shots nonetheless, but, not without the utter rudeness of ignorant people. For that, I am sorry, but, I also applaud you for pushing that little girl and her family ahead as you did.

I would have done the same thing. When you see someone being polite in the face of rudeness, it is so hard to NOT do something nice for them. Thank you for showing such a kindness towards them and may you be rewarded in kind some day.

Thank you for the view! I hope you have a most wonderful day!

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Actually I don't know if they were american.. they could have come from anywhere.. Americans don't hold a monopoly on rudeness after all ;)

Yeah I hope they pay that kindness forward. I think small acts like that can add up over time, and maybe in the future people will be kinder to each other.. we live in such a selfish world at the moment.

I believe in my heart that kindness, moves a part of our soul, however small and repeated acts will train it.

One can hope, right?

I think and hope you are right :) x

WOW these are spectacular shots

Thanks :) The subject matter makes it easy :)

Ohh yes that is true but gettign shot slike this also requires greta skill

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

The view is superb, I am sorry that there were people that don't care about the consequenses of their selfish attitude. The shots are still really good, thanks for sharing.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 83%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93