Major Steemit Milestone - Reaching 60 Rep!

in #photography6 years ago


20140819-IMG_7052.jpg

So last night became a rather exciting evening for me! I reached 60 REP! Hallelujah! Woo hoo! I wasn't expecting it to be honest. Last night my rep was at 59.981 and I know what you are thinking .. "not expecting 56? are you suffering from a head injury?" No!


20131105-IMG_4469.jpg

No head injuries here! Due to the way the rep system works and the level of payouts I have been getting for the past few months (about $1 - $2per post - 1 post per day) my rep has been increasing at about 0.008 per day. I was expecting it in a few days but it came early! I randomly checked my phone at work last night (I work 2 jobs on top of steemit, one during the day and another at night) and suddenly I saw that '60' over my name. I was like:


20150719-IMG_0125.jpg

Awwwww yeah! Dance like no one is watching!! And no one was watching because Iw as dancing for joy inside my head.. I'm a terrible dancer.. and one day I look forward to embarrassing the crap out of my kids with that particular set of skills!

Anyway, I was so happy! Finally! Just over a year since I joined I finally reached 60! Now I know lots of people have been here a month and suddenly are at rep 60.. good for them, but since its linked to payout its often the case now that your quick rep climb is from using bidbots or the benevolence of some high powered steemians. I don't use bidbots (I tried and failed miserably .. I only ever broke even) so the climb was slow and steady.


6163493549_52c9304abc_o.jpg

So anyway, I celebrated! (hence the fireworks pictures!). I finished my shift and made my way home .. still wondering how I managed to surpass 60 when I hadn't actually posted anything in a few hours or gotten any curation rewards paid out.. it was a bit pf a mystery.

When I got home I poured myself a glass of wine and logged in to steemit to see if I had any new messages or anything to reply to before bed. Well wouldn't you know it .. on a recent post called The Manliest drink of Manliness - Whiskey and Bullets I had a little message informing me that I had been curie'd.

O.M.G.

I was up on the couch like this guy:


20150719-IMG_0142.jpg

Yeeeaaaaassssss! Its a great feeling to get a totally organic, big payout .. to be recognised for doing good work. It felt amazing, I was so excited .. I forgot to reply to their message ... I replied in the morning .. I hope they don't feel like I didn't appreciate it at the time. I have so much respect for that group, not because I got a decent payout from their attentions, but because curating is REALLY HARD on steemit. Its so hard to find good quality content. Mostly because of the massive volume of daily posts from users and the fact that the steemit interface is still somewhat.... lacking.


20140819-IMG_7064.jpg

Anyway, this is a huge milestone, much like reaching 1000 followers is, and I am unreasonably excited by it :) It kinda feels like my account has matured... is now a 'steemit adult' as it were. Anyway, I wanted to share this moment with you all! I hope all your Fridays are as delightful as mine has been :)


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Congratulations, you have definitely earned it!

Thanks :) It feels good!

Congrats! One of the few left who actually earned it then, so old school! But that is the way it should be.

Thanks! I'd like to think so :) It certainly feels rewarding to have done it this way.

Congratulations, @fiftysixnorth!

I'm happy for you, and you've every right to be completely jazzed, as I am on your behalf!

Thanks so much :)

You're welcome! Have a great week!

Same to you :)

Congratulations my friend so well deserved. And I know that feeling to reach 60... I was like 59 is never changing... Lol took forever to get to 60 but what a feeling 😉👌 deserves to celebrate.
And again congrats on the curie on your whiskey bullet post. It was badass.. You know I loved it.
Happy Friday my dear and you are so lucky that being FRIDAY the 13th today is not gonna effect you 😜 lol
I'm in luck to.. I just won my first coin collection raffle from @thedamus... How Awsome is that 👍😉. 🤗❤️
Your fireworks pictures are just extraordinary

That's great! Congratulations! :) Friday the 13th has always been a lucky day for me! :) Thank you so much :D

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations on your awesome achievement! I know what you mean about being excited when finally turning 60, it seemed like I was stuck on 59 forever! I can also relate to being frustrated seeing new accounts come in and "buy" their way to 60+ reputation. Ironically I'm halfway finished writing an article touching on that subject. I really don't see the point of reputation levels or scores if any regular joe blow can buy their way to the top, but that's just my opinion and you know what they say about opinions...

Haha! Yes, I know the saying :) I'll be interested to read it and hear yours! I have a few of my own on the subject and that of bidbots which I think are largely responsible. I could really go into here but I think I will save it up for commenting on your post :)
It did take forever.. omg I was on 59 for the longest time. I think that's why its such a milestone. I don't know if rep means anything anymore, but at least I know I got there on my own ...steem. sorry

Hello @fiftysixnorth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for the upvote @creativecrypto! See you around the blockchain :)

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth. That's a great milestone and my next one too.

Like you, I've been working my way there without the help of bots. And each increment gets harder to achieve. I can understand your excitement.

And getting Curied, that's even better in my opinion. Well done to you! 😁

Thanks! Its very satisfying to reach it in this way.. hard .. but satisfying. I was stuck at 59 for months!

Oh no. Don't say that @fiftysixnorth. I'm running out of oomph. I don't think I can wait months. 😂

lol! Don't worry, you may not have to, you never know what might be around the corner. Personally I am hoping steem price goes through the roof, then with the larger payouts you'll get there in no time! :D

Woohoo what a Milestone, next stop 65 :)

Absolutely! ..and just when I thought I was catching up to you I notice your rep! lol

@fiftysixnorth LOL it grows so slow once you get to our level, but Hay you got Curied, thats something that never happened to me :)

Oh yes! I shudder to think how slow it would go at 70! I don't mind it going up slowly now that I've passed this particular milestone. :) Yes, I couldn't quite believe my luck when I saw the message from Curie. That was quite a treat!

@fiftysixnorth a well deserved treat you work is amazing and glad to see it get some recognition

Thanks mate :)

Congratulations, very well deserved too you are rock solid consistent poster and of course your photography is legendary.

Very funny post too, you selected some really fun photos to go alongside you emotions - did make me laugh!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks :) I was so excited .. and going through some old event shots I cam across some dancing and was like "yes! That's exactly how I feel right now!" :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87