Swimming with a wild Whaleshark

in #photography5 years ago


IMG_8857.JPG

I am feeling somewhat reminiscent today, looking through old photos wondering what to post today.. So I came upon one of my favourite and probably most striking recent memories. You know how you find yourself in a moment and you think, "this is amazing, I will remember this moment till the day I die." This was such a moment for me.

I had frequently seen whalesharks on TV in nature documentaries and never thought I'd see one up close in the wild myself.

I was diving in the Maldives and we were taken to an atoll where they are known to appear at certain times of year, and after about 40 minutes of swimming around looking for them, this little guy (little for a whaleshark) shows up and swims right through the crowd like we are nothing.

I took the photo with a gopro session 4 and put together some video from the encounter as well:

Have you ever had a moment in your life when you though "omg this is awesome, I will never forget this moment?"


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78