Walking across the Brooklyn Bridge - NYC

in #photography5 years ago


20181010-IMG_8169.jpg

I've always wanted to walk across the brooklyn bridge and get some decent close up shots of it. However I didn't imagine or realise how incredibly busy the bridge is to foot traffic. There were certain images I had held in my mind that I wanted to take, but I realised as I got to the bridge, to get those shots I would either need some kind of special access, come back in the middle of the night, or do some illegal urban exploration.


20181010-IMG_8150.jpg

I have heard of people doing that, but the bridge is monitored and the last story I heard the cops showed up pretty quickly to dissuade the would be urbex climbers from doing what they intended.


20181010-IMG_8158.jpg

I'm cool with that, I am not 18 anymore and I don't think I am athletic enough anymore to try such stunts. Maybe 20 years ago it would have been a realistic prospect. Ugh .. just saying that makes me feel old :/


20181010-IMG_8164.jpg

I think I still got some nice shots and more importantly I managed to get onto the bridge, which the last time I was in NYC I somehow was not able to do despite getting very close to it.


20181010-IMG_8166.jpg

If you are ever in NYC and you want to walk across the brooklyn bridge, here is my advice.. don't go on a hot sunny day. There is literally no shade anywhere on the bridge and you will be swimming in your own sweat by the time you get half way across.. I know its gross, but seriously remember that. Go on a day with a bit of cloud cover .. or you will roast!


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks @pixresteemer! :)

You still managed to get some incredible photos of the bridge, loving the sepia effect ones, and that last one - incredible when you see the intricate wires either side - you picked a perfect position for that photo.

I don't know about going on it in the sun, I would avoid any sort of wind - that could be a scary experience for sure when those cables start twanging!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks mate, I am not sure how it fairs in the wind but its pretty solid..not sure you'd even feel the wind! Not like the bridges we have here where the wind knocks lorries over lol! That happens on a bridge here in edinburgh at least once a year. Some driver ignores the warnings and drives over anyway, closing the bridge for hours stranding people on either side. :)

it's an incredible bridge. i once walked that REAL early morning like 3am, the city felt so BIG then, it's a walk and a half! :) absolutely stunning SOLID piece of engineering.

That would have been amazing! I can imagine it feels much bigger when you're there at that time with less people. Its a beautiful structure.

yeah it's eerie, like especially when it's cold and windy, it feels like a real challenge, like walking into mordor or something. certainly life affirming. so strong, so determined to CROSS that body of water.. ..

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99