A Witch in My Garden: "Cotton Bug Killer Nymphs - Zelus Longipes"

in #photography5 years ago
Every time I go to my little garden I feel like in a chapter of Discovery Channel or Animal Planet, discovering strange animals, well at least strange to me, some luckily I have been able to capture them with the camera of my phone, others have not been possible because either I do not have the phone at hand or simply go very fast. Happily this was not the case.



A group of nymphs of Zelus Longipes, or as they are commonly called Cotton Tree Killers, I must confess that when I read the word killers I was a little frightened, as My Mathias usually runs around the garden. The truth is that they get that name because they are predators that eat other insects considered pests and that affect plants, which at a certain point is something great,



I think I saw a group of these strange nymphs last year in one of the pomegranate trees, because they also feed on the sap of some flowers, just as they feed on the fruits of the blackberry grass, which has been attacked by insects that I still cannot discover because they do it at night. Unfortunately I had to cut these blackberry grass plants, however I continue to see these nymphs in other plants.



Although I could not get information about the origin of this insect, I could see that it is distributed throughout the American continent, and that it is even introduced in corn crops to counteract some pests and larvae that affect them. It is really an elegant insect for its walk and its long legs, it does not measure more than 19 mm, really when they are alone they are almost imperceptible.




Nature is perfect, so perfect that it is in charge of placing things in equilibrium!

.

Images of my property, taken with the lens of my iPhone 5S, without edition.


Resources consulted
  • Source 1
  • Source 2
















    @SM-Spanish Community Discord )




    Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses



    Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses

    @Repollo Discord
    @Templo Discord
    @Steem-ua Discord
    @Steemmonsters Discord


    Join @upmewhale's Discord





    A proud member of



    Sort:  

    Really cool pictures!

    1 !BEER Token for you

    Command accepted!



    Hey @fmbs25, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

    Hi, @fmbs25!

    You just got a 0.64% upvote from SteemPlus!
    To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
    If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
    TIBLogo

    You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

    They are beautiful. LOL

    Little garden helpers!

    Posted using Partiko iOS

    Nature got it right, as long as we don't kill everything with pesticides @fmbs25

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Some great little characters and we don't have them over here.
    Blessings!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.28
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.034
    BTC 66137.63
    ETH 3161.38
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.13