A Place Remembered (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

It has been almost five years since I boarded a plane for Ronda. It was an amazing place to be, both for its breathtaking landscapes and lifestyle. There are many places in and around the city that I frequented and some that received more photographic attention than others. This tree line, visible from atop the city's cliffs, is one such place.


MNM14053120140531-EOS_4068.jpg
Pastel Tones

Something about the contrast and form of the trees seemed to attract my lens. Ronda is surrounded by low mountains, which seem to churn up clouds, creating beautiful evening skies.

MNM13101820131018-EOS_5848.jpg
Contrsty Sky

Because of the surrounding mountains, dusk comes early to the valley. Sometimes it can be difficult to see the trees, when there is a lot of contrast between sky and valley.

MNM14021420140214-EOS_9507.jpg
Rays of Hope (or Alien Abduction)

The years since returning to the USA have not been great, for various reasons. When things get rough, though, it helps to have a place like this to remember.

MNM14031920140319-EOS_0118.jpg
This Frame Rocks

I am, currently, about a year from completing a masters degree in Spanish. Perhaps, with a masters degree, I'll be able to find a way back, even if it is just to visit.

MNM13111120131111-EOS_6602.jpg
After Hours

I stumbled across these in my catalog, while looking for another image earlier this week and decided to re-edit them. My Lightroom process has changed quite a bit in half a decade! The color and sharpness changes are a vast improvement.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

I chuckled at the "or alien abduction" lol, great shots! Only one more year!! That is going to whip by :)
What size do you make your photos for steemit? I always have trouble because I make them 900 x something close to 900

Hehe, well you know how it is when those beams of light come through the clouds. You can never be 100% certain you won't get beamed up to the mother ship!

I usually leave my photos fairly large, exporting with the long edge at 3072. I used to do 2048, which is really ore than enough. Most monitors are still at 1920x1080 (widescreen) so, if you export to that size, it will come up with a 1:1 pixel ratio in full-screen. I usually leave mine at 3072, though, so you can zoom in a little more and see the detail.

I wouldn't do full res, though, because then you can zoom in and see how my camera's sensor is having difficulty...

The camera actually stalled on me several times last night, so I didn't get any photos of the meteor shower. I got to see some real beauties, though!

Thanks for the lesson!! Bummer with the sensor stall. Does that mean it’s the stall of death or just a glitch?
So glad you got to see that meteor shower!! I have the Night Sky app and it said there was supposed to 100 per hour. I’m over in Norway with jet lag so I missed it dang it, but I’m so glad to hear someone I know saw it!!

The camera still seems to work for "normal" shots, but stalls on exposures of about a minute or more. Unfortunately, my truck has also decided to start shuddering when I push the gas and my laptop is barely holding together with the epoxy fix. Being a destitute college student again in your late 30's is not as fun as it sounds!

Sorry you missed the peak meteor shower, but you might even be able to see some tonight. It's no longer peak, so there may only be 4-5 an hour, so I guess seeing them would really depend on how patient you are :-)

Looks like a glorious place. I imagine the weather is divine. I hope you get to get back there once schooling is done. That would be nice. Never been to that part of the world, but would love to see it. Maybe someday.
Love the trees on the horizon...is that a cave you were in, or just a rock with a large hole in the center? Just have to know ( :

Thanks! That framing is actually a hole in part of an ancient city wall. When the Moors and Berbers held the area, they built city walls higher up. I'm not sure who constructed this ruin, but it is possibly Roman wor.

You were so lucky to be able to travel there. It seems like a beautiful place. I hope you get to go back someday. Maybe you'll find a job or other opportunity after you get your degree.

Thanks! Tha's the hope. I've been watching the job situation over there, but it is really difficult to find permanent work without EU citizenship.

I really enjoyed a visit to Rhonda a few years ago @fotosdenada. I never saw your lovely tree line though.

Beautiful photographs. No wonder you remember it fondly. 😊

Ronda is a really beautiful city. The tree line is in the distance to the west and can be seen from the Puente Nuevo, or New Bridge, as well as from the Parque Almeda and, my favorite spot, Plaza de María Auxiliadora. Of course, if you are at Puente Nuevo, you may as well walk a block East and go to the Daver pastry shop... Mmmmm.... :-)

I have made a note of these spots @fotosdenada, in case we ever return to Rhonda. It isn't in my plans because there are so many other places I want to see that I've not visited yet. But you never know. 😁

@fotosdenada wow! these pictures are so adorable.you have shot really nice photos,especially contrast sky is shot with perfection.keep sharing.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T00:51:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 206.60/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great photography.

An eye catching! Silhouette Effect awesome!!
So vibrant...Very wonderfully photographs

Hello fotosdenada!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Nice post. Doesn't look like you are getting the votes you deserve though. You should check out steemengine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82