Atypical Firework Images (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy!

Due to traveling, an interview, and events around the USA's Independence Day, followed by an eye appointment, it's been awhile since my last post. As I write this, my eyes are still dilated. It has been over 24 hours, and I'm still having trouble focusing... which made editing these photos a little more than difficult!

That said, I had a lot of fun shooting the fireworks, this year. In addition to the standard fireworks shots, I tried a few different creative techniques.

MNM18070420180704-EOS_3862.jpg
Explosions With Bokeh!
This first one is an example of playing with focus. It took a bit of practice to nail the final focus without being able to autofocus. Modern Canon cameras have a touch-to-focus that would make it easier, but I had to rely on intuition. Starting focused at about the four meter mark, I slowly twisted the focus as the fireworks exploded, trying to get about a half second of in-focus firework at the end of the shot.

MNM18070420180704-EOS_3938.jpg
The Perfect Poof
This is my favorite of the creative shots. Not onnly did I nail the focus, but another mortar exploded behind, adding some in-focus bits to the bottom.

Safety First? Nahhhh! These people are being a little risky. The cement "posts" they're sitting on are at the top of a five-story parking garage. I was on the roof of the next one over, feet firmly planted.
MNM18070420180704-EOS_3822.jpg
Courting Death...

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

MNM18070420180704-EOS_3921.jpg
Obligatory "Normal" Firework Photo

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

I love fireworks. They are so colourful and just amazing.

Thanks. They are fun to watch.

Great photographs @fotosdenada. I like the first and third pair especially. 😊

Thank you. I had a good time, though I think I may look for a better rooftop next year... If I'm still here, anyway. I have a possible interview in Duluth, MN, wich would be even better :-)

I'm surprised that you can have a choice of rooftops @fotosdenada. I would have thought it would be hard to get on one on July 4th. Do people rent out space on them?

Most people try to set up in back yards, along the roads, or in the park along the riverfront. The park offers front-row views, with relections! Of course, it also offers a huge crowd and drones blinking and leaving streaks in your long-exposure photos.

As for the building tops, the parking ramps are great places to watch and they are free on holidays. I was really surprised that it wasn't packed with people.

the parking ramps are great places to watch and they are free on holidays.

I shall have to remember that tip @fotosdenada should I ever find myself in a position to put it to good use! 😁

Gorgeous photos. Love the 'messin' with focus. They're all classic, but the ones in total BW are surreal. Nice works. They do offer a real challenge for capture, that's for sure. Such a quick thing, like a wedding. No chance for too many "re-do's". The clarity in these is really amazing. Thanks for putting them out for us.

Thanks! I had a lot of fun with them this time around. Now, I'm looking forward to Herman Fest (if I'm still in the area) for some more cannon fire photos.

Fortunately, if I mess up fireworks, I'm the only one that cares... not like weddings. The pressure to get "the shots" in a wedding can be pretty intense.

That is some interesting results, I really like the 2 side by side pictures, the lights look like fine little strings. Nice play :)

Thanks! I should have shared Adobe of the failed attempts... Lol

Whoa! Love the creative shots you took!! I used to go to Vancouver just to watch the annual world competition. One of these days I'll get to the Boston July 4th fireworks!
I have to agree with you on your title of courting death...jeeeezzaaz. But, I think people that do that may have more balance than I do. Kinda like those people that work on skyscrapers.

Thanks! Hehe, well... Even I wouldn't have sat up there, and I sat on the edge of Puente Nuevo (Ronda, Spain) during some of the Holy Week processions. That's about a 300-foot drop! It had a wider edge and there was less chance of being bumped!

Wow, what an incredible shot! Yup, I’ll fly any day an particularly love giving people the pucker factor (only if they are game) but get me close to an edge of something like that (which I find irresistible:) gives me jelly legs!

I haven't really done much with video, but here's one I made while walking along the cliff trails in Ronda. If I'd only had a vlogging camera with some stabilization! lol

Whoa!! The view was definitely worth it!! I was wondering when the goats were going to show up on that trail. You must have good balance! Thanks for sharing that. Makes me want to go there!

WOW you got some awesome shots

Thanks! I like experimenting a little, and the focus thing turned out some interesting results.

@fotosdenada yeah your experiments worked so well

I hope all your life events (interviews, traveling, eye exams) all go well. You do great shots of light at night. I've never been able to take pics of fireworks. I think the last one is my favorite. Its like a star exploded in the sky.

Thanks! I love long-exposure photography. If I end up getting the job in Duluth, I hope to visit some of the spectacular waterfalls up there for some light-painting fun.

If not, well back to bison and Mankato.

There are some good guides to photographing fireworks. The main thing is to use a tripod and "bulb" mode. They're bright, so you can actually shoot ISO 100 and f/8 or even f/13.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87