Bison Calves and Air Support (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

It was definitely time to check up on the bison and their calves. I'll be headed out of Mankato for awhile, first to Rochester and then, likely, to Duluth.

MNM18062920180629-EOS_3699.jpg
Must... Hold... Tree...

The poor things have a literal swarm of flies attacking them. It's painful to watch! Even the humans (I wasn't alone!) taking photos are subject to them flying in the window and taking a chunk of flesh. In my case, a huge cicada also joined me inside the truck.

MNM18070120180701-EOS_3746.jpg
Tummy Rub?

For their part, the calves still appear to be having fun. They bounce and trot around playfully, seemingly oblivious to the swarm. One of them wanted milk and managed to head butt "mom" in the groin. The look on her face was hilarious!

MNM18070120180701-EOS_3771.jpg
"Sooo Big!"

Just about the time I thought the flies would win, the air support showed up!

MNM18070120180701-EOS_3752.jpg
"Target Locked!"

After paying a visit to the bison, I had to get a photo of the waterfall on the other side of the park. The trail below was closed for safety (flooding) reasons, but is open again. Where the trail splits, the lower section is under fast-flowing water, but the higher path is dry and safe.

MNM18062920180629-EOS_3716.jpg
Foamy
The churning water produces a white foam, which flows downstream. That is what produced the lines in this long-exposure.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Bison are so fascinating. I watched them in the Dakotas years back. Cool you get to mess with them, from a distance. If you get a chance, take a picture at night with a flashlight. Their eyes glow blue. Truly spooky. At least the Dakota one's did, maybe yours are differently 'eyed'. Where was this, exactly?
I do feel for them with all the flies and bugs. No wonder they roll around in the dirt. Your water photo is gorgeous. Nice works. And glad you didn't fall in.

Thanks! The enclosure isn't open after dark, but I may be able to find them along the edge some evening. Blue eyes, eh? That sounds eerie. TThe bugs are really awful this year. The bison have a natural pond that's about shoulder deep, and I've seen a dozen or so of them trying to get in there for a little reprieve.

little thing said 'Momma I want some milk now!'

Mom looked like she was about to skewer him with one of those horns.

Yayy, I love the bison and waterfall time lapses!!! It's always great that I can click on your titles (which are awesome) and enlarge to the point of seeing the hair on the calf's belly!
I don't get it...what was the air support? Is it those bug-eating sparrows?
Are you still using your hinged laptop? I too have one hinge that is giving me grief :)

Thanks! The birds pick flies off. I made a video, but it wasn't really post-worthy. My phone does better video capture... Lol

The epoxy seems to be holding for now! Hinges... Good luck with yours :-)

That is too cool! Thanks for showing me that!!!

It's not great video quality, but sort of shows the action. If I I get the job in Duluth, an upgraded camera body will be on my list.

... Or if Steem his $10 or so. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84