Close Up & Personal at the Nature Center (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy!

The Quarry Hill Nature Center in Rochester, MN has had a major renovation and the result has been a renewed interest on the part of the public. A new set of aquariums and some new live critters make it a great place to learn about local wildlife.

MNM18070720180707-EOS_4028.jpg
Pinocchio Fish!
The main aquarium is kind of cool. I took a few photos through it, making the fish appear to be flying. It was much more fun, though, to pull out my macro and get macro photos of fish. How often do you get to take macro photos of fish?

MNM18070720180707-EOS_4039.jpg
Garter Snake
I miss these guys! When I was a kid, we used to have garter snakes all over the place. They can bite, but it feels like sandpaper. We used to catch them and keep them as pets for awhile, before letting them go back to their exciting life of eating insects.

Eventually, fox snakes (fake rattlesnakes) replaced them. While not poisonous, fox snakes do have quarter-inch fangs (ouch!) and aren't afraid to bite hard. They don't have a real rattle, but can vibrate their tails against leaves or rocks to sort of imitate the sound a rattler makes.

MNM18070720180707-EOS_4043.jpg
Giving A Little Tongue
I'm not certain what type of snake this one is. It was hard enough to snap a photo around all the kids' fingers and heads! I did kneel down and wait for it to "sniff" with its tongue, though.

MNM18070720180707-EOS_4033.jpg
"I Hate Mornings..."
This little fella was snoozing away. I wonder if owls are just really good at ignoring noise, or if his glass enclosure was sound dampening. He seemed unaffected by the noisy room beyond his little world.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Your posts are always SO enjoyable!!
Crazy the detail you got. Obviously, you aren't afraid of snakes...I was doing the quick glance look away juuuuust in case there was going to be a spider in this post, lol
Got the huge Awwwww from me when I saw the owl. I love owl!!
I wonder why this curie didn't pull as much steem $? No matter, wayyy too cool with another curie!!!!

Thanks! The owl was very cute. It looks like a young one, but I'm not sure about owls. We have mostly barred and short-eared owls around here. The wild ones drive my parents' dog nuts. He actually managed to get an owl to crap on him about a week ago... which must have taken some skill on the part of the owl!

The snakes were behind glass, but neither one of those species is poisonous. I used to catch garter snakes all the time and let them wrap themselves around my wrists. They're harmless and eat bugs (and spiders!) so, naturally, I enjoyed having them around back in the day. I never got close to fox snakes. Those fangs are scary.

Oh too funny with the owl! No doubt it was pre-meditated skillful flight technics. Jeez, I bet the squirrels had a good chuckle too!

Hrm. I think this was a "Curie Light." There wasn't an accompanying Curie comment. I don't really know how Curie works, though...

Gorgeous close-up's. The snakes are really nice, and I do love snakes. Taking through the gross glass sometimes is hard, with all the fingerprints and such. A real challenge (that and people bonking on the glass, "do something snake, do something". It IS doing something, sir, it's being a snake.
As for the owl, I'm guess it's used to the lunacy, and just says, "who's REALLY at the zoo?"

Ha. Whooo, indeed!

I wish we still had snakes around the house. They're more interesting in the wild.

The owl is too adorable, he does look so peaceful. I hear your pains of trying to take pictures thru people! It's a patience game.

Thanks! Patience and a little luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36