Fanning the Flames (Original Photography)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

While heading home from the park, a cloud of smoke caught my eye. The little barn on the corner looked like it was about to go up in flames! There were three fire trucks parked in front, though. It turned out that the farmer had planted native prairie grasses around this barn and it was time for a controlled burn.

MM201920190514EOS_1649.jpg
Hot Crops

Natural prairie needs to be burned occasionally. The flames pass quickly, destroying the exposed part of the plants, while leaving roots and seeds to sprout in following years.

MM201920190514EOS_1652.jpg
How to remove rabbits

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Lol, I bet the rabbits and mice ran!! I wonder whoever figured a controlled burn was beneficial?

Good question. Prairie needs to burn in order to be rejuvenated. I wonder if the native American burned it too, or if it only burned when natural events caused them...

Good for the land, good for the wildlife and good for us all!

... except the wascally wabbits! lol

Well, I don't love them so much!

Howdy sir fotosdenada! how interesting..I've always heard of controlled burning for forests but I've never heard of it for grass! Both are cool shots too.

Thanks! Yeah, prairie actually needs burning to be healthy. I'm glad it's controlled, though.

I suppose you have to have the fire dept there is you do a controlled burn?

That is so cool they are doing that. Love native prairies. Wish there were more. I would LOVE to have seen the originals all across the plains. Would have been amazing. Except the big bears that ran around in them long ago. I think there is a renewed interest in getting them going in many places. (The prairies, not the bears. That wouldn't hold up for long in most of the places.) Thanks for the nice photos of a pretty cool thing.

I'd be worried about the "mountain" lions, myself! Apparently, large cats used to prowl the plains.

There would have been some BIG lions, for sure. As you say, 'mountain' lions. I'm pretty sure they were everywhere in the US at one time. All the joyous things that could eat you, out on the plains. I've heard that Lewis and Clark were terrified of the big bears too. They would run down a horse. Yikes, I think I would have stayed at home. Then again, no one ever accused me of being brave, which I tend to call smart...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30