Ice in Monochrome (Original B&W Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

After getting eight inches of heavy, wet snow, I wanted to see if the Jeep could handle the narrow, gravel road down a steep hill to Triple Falls. This is something I wouldn't have even attempted with the rear wheel drive Ranger. Having 4WD made a huge difference, though, and the trip down (and back out) went very smoothly!

MM201820181205-EOS_8591.jpg
Ice Fangs

The path down to the falls from the road was another story. Not only did we receive snow, but there was a layer of ice underneath it. The "path" is steep and winds around six-foot slabs of jagged, broken stone. Finally arriving at the base of the falls (no broken bones or equipment!) I got a great view of the falls. It has only been a little over a week, but the ice formations have changed quite a bit.

MM201820181205-EOS_8560.jpg
Nature Does Architecture

This column of ice, complete with an almost Doric-style base, is actually a partially-formed ice tube. The meteorologists are predicting a cold snap over the next few days, and it may be enough to finish sealing the tube completely. A significant stream of water is dropping through the middle, so the center should stay hollow.

MM201820181205-EOS_8563.jpg
Still Looks Like a Mouth

We're also supposed to have some sunshine over the next few days. It has been the gloomiest, most overcast November in recent memory, setting a local record for sun-less days. With any luck, I hope to return Friday morning and get sunlight difracting through the ice. The waterfall faces the East, but hills and steep inclines mean that there's only about an hour of the day where the sun will touch these formations.

MM201820181205-EOS_8571.jpg
Ice Blobs

The base of the ice column has some fascinating textures. Water has frozen into blobs of transparent ice in some places and frosted icicles in other spots. Look closely, and you can see bands in some of the blobs.

MM201820181205-EOS_8565.jpg
Icy Cold

This is a look into the backside of the partially-formed tube. The sound of the stream splashing into the pool below seems to echo oddly through the ice and was a lot louder than expected.

MM201820181205-EOS_8578.jpg
Sharp and Pointy

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Wow wow wow. Stunning photos again! Loved the storey and titles. (Really does look like a mouth still lol). I can’t even pick a favourite photo this time.
Be careful on that ice! Crazy how you made the cold awesome...I hate being cold!!

Thanks! It sort of looks like a mouth sucking on a big lollipop, now - lol

I'm not really a fan of the cold, either. I frostbit my hands as a child, so they don't have much circulation and get cold very fast. It's actually gets pretty painful taking photos in the cold, but it seems worth it in the end.

One more reason to move back to Spain, if possible.

Howdy sir fotosdenada! wow that falls is really getting frozen up isn't it? I like seeing the progress but it looks miserably cold too! lol. Those are great shots though, did you have to get in behind them for some of those?

Thanks! The overhang on this falls is pretty impressive. There is about ten feet behind the falls so, even in the summer, you can walk behind. The temperature drops significantly behind in the summer, so it's a favorite spot on a hot summer day.

I was hoping to get there this morning to get photos with the sun streaming through the ice, but the meteorologists were 100% off. Instead of a sunny morning, we've got gray, dark skies. If the forecast is accurate this time, I may get a chance on Sunday morning.

It's probably for the best, since I still have to design the final exam for my students and do some grading. There's only one small thing I still need to do for my grad course work for the semester, though. The end is in sight!

howdy again sir fotosdenada! oh wow I thought you were going to the university, but you are also a teacher?

I'm working as a graduate teaching assistant while I take classes. It's quite a bit of work, but university-level teaching experience is great. They also waive my tuition and give me a stipend.

Oh that's perfect sir fotosdenada! And that will look very good on your resume right? It has to be an enhancement, good thinking!

Fabulous photos! I drove a couple different Jeeps for over 20 years. They are a great vehicle for getting around this part of the country in the winter time. I still laugh when I think of my dad words of wisdom about my jeeps. He always said that the only thing that I had going for me there is that I would just get stuck deeper then someone in a 2 wheel drive car! I did hit a patch of black ice once and spun around and put it in the ditch and had to be pulled out. Embarrassing, but no damage. Nominating to @c-squared.

Thanks! I'm hoping to get some sunlight down there tomorrow morning, but it's also gotten colder. We're not sub-zero yet.

Sometimes, there's just nothing you can do. I managed to hit a slick patch going around a corner already, with the Jeep. I ended up half way up the curb in the snowbank, but it drove right out! It's so much easier than my RWD Ranger was. I used to have trouble getting traction when the light turned green, even with four sandbags in the bed.

I bought that Ranger used and ended up pouring a lot of money into it in repairs. The lady I bought it from said it didn't have ABS but, after owning it four four years, I hit the brake and the ABS kicked in! It had never come on before. It worked one time and, then, the ABS error light came on and it never worked again!

That truck was a money sink, but I do miss having manual transmission and crank windows.

The sun is shining here now! The clouds cleared up a while ago. I had almost forgotten what the sun looks like!

I'm seeing lots of temperatures in the teens this week for lows, but at least it's not single digits yet.

Crank windows! I could never miss those! Although the HHR that I have right now has the window buttons in the center console. I will never remember that. I always reach for the button on the door to roll the window down. I haven't driven a manual transmission since I was a kid. I doubt that I would even remember how.

Can't wait to see your Frozen waterfall pictures with sunlight on them!

The sun is out here today, too! I had to be in class, since it was the last day before the final and my students had presenatations to give. The sun only reaches the ice for about an hour in the morning, so I'll try and get up early and head over there. It will be about 10º when I'm out, if the weather people are to be believed...

You are a very brave guy! Dress warmly and don't take any risks!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Truly magnificent photography @fotosdenada How awesome it must be to see these scenes in person. Thank you for cooling down the atmosphere for me, for these very enjoyable moments my friend. (U & R )

It is interesting seeing the falls like this, but also very cold!

I can imagine the cold and I think I'd be making sure there was plenty of hot chocolate available afterwards to help warm me up. (lol)

Wow ... what breathtaking photos! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

It's amazing how it freezes in mud flow

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's more of a process. The ice forms from the top of the falls and the icicles slowly grow until they reach the bottom. It hasn't been cold enough to freeze moving water.

... at least, not yet!

Could be. Looks great though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79