Icy Falls (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

Triple Falls was calling and, with a little free time, I jumped in the Jeep and drove down the scary single-lane gravel road to the access spot. The "new" vehicle made getting around a lot easier than the little rear-wheel-drive truck I had last year.

It was a surprise to see that this much ice had already formed. It doesn't seem like it has been cold long enough, but I suppose a couple weeks of sub-freezing temperatures are all it really takes.

MM201820181126-EOS_8106.jpgBumpy Water Slide
It was also a bit chillier than expected, especially with the splashing water flinging droplets everywhere. Fortunately, the path down was ice-free.

MM201820181126-EOS_8115.jpgIs that an ice mouth?
With the late autumn's iffy weather, several ice-stalagmites had broken off and formed interesting sculptural elements at the base of the falls. I'm not exatly sure how this next one formed, but it looks as if the warmer moving water has carved into a large block of ice.

MM201820181126-EOS_8116.jpgIcy Mouth
These next two shots show an ice formation where the ice has dammed up the stream that created it. Now, it just hangs there, waiting to fall when the weather warms in about four months.

MM201820181126-EOS_8111.jpgFrozen Monster Teeth

MM201820181126-EOS_8114.jpgSo Pointy!

I hope to revisit the falls on a sunny morning, to catch some sunlight refracting through the icicles, but the forecast doesn't look to be in a cooperative mood. Of course, the meteorologists haven't been very accurate lately, so there's still hope.

MM201820181126-EOS_8113.jpg

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Uber cool photos!!! (and titles lol) Bet you had your heated seats on high!
Did the lens in the rice bag work?

Thanks! I definitely had the heaters going when I got back from the falls.

The rice didn't work, and I'm starting to think it's a mechanical failure in the switch. It'll be expensive to fix, but not nearly as expensive as a new lens. With any luck, I'll be able to pull that off after Christmas. If not, I hope to graduate in May, and maybe I can have a viable income and a life again... lol

estas también son preciosas :) has aprovechado bien el tiempo y parece que el jeep está funcionando a la perfección :) jejejj al igual que el enfoque automático, no? :) buena semana!

¡Gracias!

Jajaja pues... Todavía tiene sus problemitas pero va mucho mejor. Con respeto al objetivo de la cámara, el autoenfoque está bien pero no me permite hacer fotos de larga duración fácilmente. A ver si puedo mandarlo para que lo arreglen después de la navidad.

jejeje me alegro! :) si, o al menos que te regalen uno por Santa Claus! :P jajajaj

Wow! Great shots! Cold shots, but great ones!

Thanks! I didn't completely freeze :-)

Hope your Jeep has a good heater in it!

Wow! These images are truly spectacular @fotosdenada. They cooled me down considerably just by looking at them.......and here I am with my air con on full blast in the midst of an unrelenting heat wave. Catastrophic fire stroms are raging out of control further north of wher I live but two major ones are very close by. We really eed some rain!!!!!

Be careful with those fires close! I'm sure you heard about the mess in California this year... I saw it on Spain's TeleCinco, even. I hope you get some rain soon. Too bad I can't send you some of this snow and cold to get things back under control over there.

Yes, I did hear about those devastating fires in California. The fire fighters are dealing with strong winds as well as the extreme heat and what makes it worse, is, apparently some fires were deliberately lit. Hard to fathom why anyone would think that is ok. It is a pity we couldn't use some of your snow to put the fires out but apparently rain is on the way so I hope it is sufficient in the effected places. .

Howdy there fotosdenada! wow! These are amazing. So the water will totally freeze in the middle of winter and there won't be any water running right? And those will be some wild pictures too. Great job, these are fascinating!

Thank you. Depending on how cold the weather gets, these little streams will actually freeze up completely. The larger rivers will actually create huge, frozen blobs with water running through them like tubes, sometimes. Last year, even the large waterfall froze completely for about a week. We had -20ºF for awhile.

howdy again fotosdenada! dang. brrrrrrrr! -20 I guess would freeze dang near anything except Niagara! I'm chilled just thinking about it but it will be interesting to see those falls when you go back in the dead of winter so thank you ahead of time for braving the cold!

I'm hoping it doesn't get that cold this winter... Maybe wishful thinking, but the meteorologists predicted a warmer than average winter. I like the photos more with a little flowing water, so I can do long exposures.

yes maybe it will be a mild one. Hey is that one of the reasons to go to Spain, to get away from the cold?

Have you upgraded your car? I am yet to buy one, lol :)

Nice pictures Mark, and you are right that the ice formations would look spectacular if some morning light reaches them.

Thanks! I did trade my truck for a jeep, then immediately had to put a new engine in it. The truck was about to fall apart on the road, though, and having four wheel drive is a major benefit on slippery back roads.

I hope the jeep will take you to places you couldn't visit with your old truck :)

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09