Macro Insects and a Focusing Tips (Original Macro Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

It has been a great week for macro photography, but getting a great macro image isn't as easy as one might think. The closer you get to your subject, the less of the image is in focus. The slightest movement from an unstable hand or even breathing can throw the focus off. Add the movement of the leaf or critter you're trying to focus on and it becomes even harder. Fortunately, there are a few tricks to getting the shot. I'll share some below.

MM201920190805EOS_5930.jpg
Breakfast!

This was a photo I took in the early morning light. Morning is a great time to take macro photos of insects, since the temperatures are cooler and they don't move as quickly. I saw this metallic green bug eating someone for breakfast and had to try and get it.

Focusing Tip Nº 1:
Try setting your camera to high-speed burst. When your camera focuses, hold the shutter and move toward and away from the subject ever so slightly. One of the photos should be in focus!

MM201920190805EOS_6041.jpg
Let's call him "Harry"

This one is an invasive species. Locally referred to as Japanese beetles, they are very good at eating the leaves off of trees. The burnished bronze shell and white dots around their backside make them quite pretty, though.

Focusing Tip Nº 2:
If possible, kneel down and use an elbow on the ground or on your knee for stabilization. It's not a tripod, but it does help prevent your camera from shaking.

MM201920190806EOS_6367.jpg
Definitely Caught the Red-Eye

This red-eyed bug seems to be a bee of some sort. It's back had yellow and black markings, though it was too small for me to see whether it had a stinger or not. It was a little dark, so I had my aperture wide open. Getting a little lower down, I managed to get the eyes in focus, as well as the leaf it was perched on.

Focusing Tip Nº 3
If your eyesight is good, practice with manual focus. Sharp vision and manual focus can be much quicker and more accurate with macro lenses. When I could still do it, I would overshoot a little both front and back focusing, then split the difference.

Even if your eyesight isn't great, you can roll your focusing ring while using high-speed burst. Just like slightly moving toward and away from the subject after locking focus, you should get a couple of shots that are spot-on.

And what if the subject is moving?

Hope your auto focus is better than mine! Here's a little video I put together to illustrate my relationship with trying to focus moving targets...

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Oh Wow!! That breakfast shot and your video are priceless! Funny how when I saw the Harry critter I thought, WAIT, isn't that the triad nasty bug. Love your narratives for the photos :) And LOVE it when you get Curied!!!

Thanks! Those blasted trident beetles are back in force! At least they're sort of interesting... and better than the stink bug I found yesterday!

Breathtaking!! The first picture with the mosquito eating the other bug must hve been hard to get, so tiny, but really cool. Great tips, tiny critters are more sluggish just as the sun comes up and stay put longer at least to take a picture. My camera, something so tiny it never wants to auto focus I generally just go manual for most insect photos, it's easier.

Thanks! I'm not sure what that green fly was eating, but it made an interesting shot.

If your eyesight is good, manual focus is definitely the way to go.

My eye sight isn't good but I'm near sighted (I see well close but blurry far)so the camera act like my glasses that I don't wear but it's easier for me to spot tiny critters being near sighted. I just need them to stay put long enough for me to find the sweet spot.

It would be amazing to be able to take photos without contacts. I've got -9.5 in both eyes, which is very nearsited. Without my glasses, I can't see anything other than about five inches in front of my nose. I also have loss of photoreceptors in my central vision, so I can't correct it to 20/20. My right eye was something like 20/80 (corrected) last time I was in, and that's my "good" eye.

If I ever have an income again, I want to get a mirrorless camera. I've been looking at Fujifilm's X series and the new ones from Canon. Maybe the electric viewfinder will make things easier.

Oh wow that is a pretty extreme correction I don't even want to imagine, mine is just mild, I can find a needle in a hay stack but I can't read a road sign!! haha I only wear my glasses when I'm in the classroom or taking public transit, stuff where I actually need to see lol, 1.25 & 1.50 (I don't know the - or + , just the #)

Don't worry, you will find a job soon, don't loose hope!! A mirror-less is a good goal to look forward to. I'm interested in seeing this tech develop over the coming years. I didn't know Fuji had a model, canons are good cameras that last forever too. I want to get a Nikon mirror-less when I can afford it, they only have one lens at the moment tho, so I'm not in a rush either but my camera is losing pieces when I'm using it lol it's so old so it might just be that time. Good luck and have fun finding your future camera!

It is fascinating to see how the technology is changing photography lately. Canon is supposedly bringing back their innovative eyeball-guided autofocus that they developed in the 90's, and improving it. They had a film camera that could detect where you were looking and focus that spot. They just patented a mirrorless version.

The Fujifilm X series looks really nice, but it's APS-C and I would like to move to full frame for better low-light performance. A lot of travel photographers have gone with Fuji for the size and weight.

Nikon's are nice but, like you say, way behind in the lens department

Ha! I tried walking to town without contacts or glasses, once. I should have brought a white came! It's nice you have the option, even if your distance vision is a bit blurry.

Maybe they'll invent cyborg eyes, someday...

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Those are some mighty fine shots! That first one is so good, it looks like a house fly eating a mosquito. Anyway, great hints for people to use in their photography, well done!

Thanks! We have these shiny green flies that prey on smaller insects. They're alright by me, eating mosquitos and all, and they don't bite people like some flies do.

Oh, well I love those flies then! That's my favorite kind of fly right there, I hope they thrive and spread all over the country!

Great shot. Which camera do you use to capturing those photos?

Thank you. I'm using a Canon 7D (original, not mark II) and the 100mm macro lens. I would like to upgrade, but am unemployed at the moment.

high-speed burst for macro is a great idea, I have to try, thanks :)

It works pretty well, especially when the camera's AF won't lock on. Of course, you do wind up with 1-2 in focus and a whole bunch of blurry shots!

this is enough when working in nature, when the wind sways grass, insects move and everything moves :))
thanks for the good hint.

Wow these are great. I would love to start doing some macro photography, thanks for the inspiration and tips!

Macro is a lot of fun, even if the focus is a little tough. When you see things on such a close level, it's like seeing a whole different world.

WOW those are fabulous shots such cool detail

I have tried to use my uncles Canon EOS camera before. I believe the lenses were 18mm macro, but the shots I got weren't close enough to these.

Canon has some really nice macro lenses, but they get spendy. There's a new 60mm one with a ring light attached to the end that looks fun. I got the non-L 100mm secondhand from a guy off Craigslist. It was totally worth it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91