Minnesota Winter Begins (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

It's official. The snow is flying and the temperatures have become painfully cold. The wind and sub-freezing temperatures combined to sting exposed skin and make the morning walk to my office on campus more difficult. Snow began falling last night and, when we all thought it was done, it started up again! Naturally, I headed out with my camera.

MM201820181109-EOS_7925.jpgFrozen Water Falling from the Sky
Driving through the state park, there was no sign of the bison. That's not really a surprise, though. If I were a bison, today, I'd have found a warm-ish place to sleep and wait this weather out.

MM201820181109-EOS_7928.jpgWho Planted Snowflake Seeds?!
I stopped to watch the snow in this little patch of prairie for awhile, then headed to the surrounding farmland. My "new" Jeep is so much easier to drive than the rear wheel drive truck I had before. It should make winter photo runs a lot more viable this year.

MM201820181109-EOS_7930.jpgThe Wuzza House
Somehow, I never noticed this little house on the side of the road, just outside Mankato. I must have driven past it at least a dozen times. With the snow falling more and more heavily, it was hard to miss!

MM201820181109-EOS_7931.jpgWuzza House Take II
Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

AGHHHH I feel for you with the snow! Hope you have heated seats! I'm in Florida and there is lots of dead fish on the beach because of the red tide killing them

I do have heated seats, now! The old Ranger didn't so it's one more nice thing about the Jeep. The beach would be a nice change, but not with dead fish. I bet that smells lovely... It's more than a bit concerning that the red tide hasn't dissipated, yet.

The red tide here in Florida appears to be boosted fertilizer, chemicals, phosphorus etc. So unfortunately it’s not going to go away any time soon but only get worse. Bummer that the whole Gulf of Mexico seems to be affected.
BUTT, I’m glad you have heAted seats lol!!

Ahhhh mini snow ta....glove it or leave it! I might end up running my plow route this weekend if we actually get what they predict is coming at us tonight/tomorrow. The local lake just skinned over yesterday too. Ugh, winter is here....again. -_-

The pond at Minneopa State Park was completely iced over by noon today and already supporting the snow. I haven't seen a Mankato plow out, yet, but I did have to scrape the driveway off and got to see the first wreck of the season. I don't really mind the snow (It's so photogenic!), but that cold morning wind in the face was a bit of a shock.

It is a peaceful and beautiful view. Here is raining, still warm. We live in an amazing world !

Oooooh that does look cold @fotosdenada Quite the opposite to what we are experiencing in our neck of the woods. Stay warm.......and keep 'Steaming'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91