Mother's Day Bison (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy and happy Mother's Day!

Several of the bison at Minneopa State Park are new mothers, as of only a week or so. The calves seem ready to go as soon as they're delivered! I've been trying to get some close-up photos of them ever since i heard they had been born and have, finally manged a few.

The little one in this first photo was hungry and kept head-butting his mother's udders. I bet that felt great, but she didn't seem too concerned.

MM201920190509EOS_1488.jpg
It Pasture-ized!

They usually stick pretty close to their mothers at this point, but one little calf decided to do some exploring. The adventure lasted a full thirty seconds—just long enough for a photo.

MM201920190509EOS_1447.jpg
Trouble Maker

This lovely lady wandered off a ways from the rest of the herd. It almost looked as if she neede to escape calf pestering for a minute. Perhaps even the bison need a moment of solitude from time to time.

MM201920190509EOS_1454.jpg
Alone Time

This little one had an itchy neck. I think she saw noticed me taking her photo. Her eye is looking right at the camera!

MM201920190509EOS_1471.jpg
Most Comfy Pillow Ever

I just had to add this last one. The curiosity of the young, even bison calves, is amazing. Everything is all new and interesting!

MM201920190509EOS_1434.jpg
"Mommy's Pooping"

And, on that note... Have a happy Mother's Day!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

That is seriously cute!! I always love the bison photos but add the wee ones and that's a whole bunch of ugly cuteness!!
The mom alone time bison has a really pretty coat on her like she just came from the hair salon!

Thanks! That lady on her own was perfectly posed, too. Just like she went straight from the salon to the portrait studio.

haha! howdy sir fotosdenada! Oh, those are such great picures, how cute the little ones are and how magnificent the adults are! I love Bison. In my posts I usually call them buffalo just because Hermann did but I know that technically there are no buffalo except the Water buffalo in Africa.

Thanks! I almost got to see a Darwin Award today in the bison run. The herd was crossing the gravel road and some idiot on a motorcycle with his girlfriend decided to cut between Mom and calf. His girlfriend almost got skewered when the angry mother charged them!

oh no! I mean oh yeah! lol..what dummies..did you get any photos? lol.

You should try posting on weku!

I tried it for a bit, but couldn't seem to build any interest :-P

I’ll support you there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29