Patient Toad (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

Last week, I saw this little guy trying hard not to be noticed. I didn't have the right lens attached, so I went into the house, swapped for the macro, and came back to find him in the same spot. It wasn't a great spot, so I lifted him in my hand and he didn't even squirm, jump off, or urinate on me (defensive toad trick). He was very cooperative through his photo shoot, too. I think he might have even let me set up lights and a backdrop, if I'd wanted!

MM201920190706EOS_4305.jpg
Strange Mustache

Noting the grass on his face, I carefully picked it off. Again, he just let me do it. I guess this one wasn't worried about being eaten! If toads didn't permanently appear to be frowning, I would say he was smiling.

MM201920190706EOS_4308.jpg
Uncommonly Patient Common Toad

Now, if I could just train him to sit on my shoulder and eat the mosquitos that get too close...

MM201920190706EOS_4310.jpg
Got Bugs?

These were taken at my parents' house in Rochester, MN, where I spent a little time before heading to an interview in central Wisconsin. The interview went very well, but it is a very small school in a small town. The pay rate would be difficult to live on. So, now I'm mulling it over and trying to decide whether I want to take it for the experience or look for something more lucrative.

I wish my life were as easy as sitting around and waiting for food to fly within tongue-range!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

That's a tough one to decide if you should take that job or not. Let us know what you decide. If it were me, I say there is nothing wrong with taking the job and still look for another job.
Love the toad portraits!! Not only do I have suicidal robins, I've got suicidal frogs that seem to like to hop to our beach fires...weird!

Thanks! Maybe your frogs thing the sparks are fireflies? lol. Well, you can have grilled robin and fire-roasted frogs, now!

It isn't the sort of situation that I could just work while I look for something else. I would have to work on the teacher's certification (paid for by them) and, if I left, it would be a mess. Besides, I wouldn't want to leave my students in the middle of the course.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Great toad pictures! Maybe that toad is a professional model, and that's why he was so patient. Keep us posted about the job thing.

Too bad I didn't have a little top hat for him!

How cool that not only he stayed but let you move him so you could get these amazing shots

Your toad is a great model. He does have a bit of a frown. 😊

Amazing photos @fotosdenada That was one very obliging frog.......to wait for you to get the right lens for your camera so that you could get the best shots of him. I wish you all the best re; Your career choice and I'm sure you will make the right decision.

He was very cooperative.

I ended up turning down the job. Working at Target actually pays about the same, is less stress and likely fewer hours. Ugh. However, I did just apply to a nonprofit coordinator job in the Bahamas. I doubt I'll get an interview, but that would be an epic change of pace!

You've thought it out well @fotosdenada Working in the Bahamas sounds like mixing work with pleasure to me. It just may happen.......fingers crossed. 🤞

Haha! great shots there sir fotosdenada, I'm surprised he let you pick him up and never tried to jump! Tough decision there, is that your only option job-wise at the moment? I'd hate to be committed to a low paying gig.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71