Pooch Watch (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

For the last week or so, I've been taking care of my parent's and sister's dogs. With not much else going on, aside from looking for work, I spent some time getting photos of them. Neither one is very cooperative, when it comes to photos.

This is Vern, a redbone coonhound mix (we think).

MM201920190529EOS_2633.jpg
"Woof!"

Vern was found running along a rural road at three months old and my parents were able to adopt him from the equivalent of a doggy foster home. He has a deep dislike for delivery trucks, especially his nemesis, the evil UPS truck.

MM201920190529EOS_2645.jpg
"My stick!"

... and this is Tammy. Her nicknames over the years have included Puddles and Tamster (Tammy-Monster).

MM201920190527EOS_2434.jpg
Tammy Being Pensive

Tammy is well past her golden years and, with kidney failure, has three paws in the grave. My sister now makes her a special home-made diet that appears to have transformed her, though! While I was watcing her, she didn't have a single seizure and is more energetic than I've seen her in years. She even ran around and barked once! She hasn't been very vocal in years.

MM201920190527EOS_2445.jpg
"I'm not dead yet!"

Maybe it was the fresh air and things to smell that did it, but she seemed very content.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Oh, too funny with "not dead yet!" I'm watching the neighbors dog (fat Tank is his name). When the owners are home, the dog acts like it has 3 paws in the grave, but when we have him...holy hell, we're scared he's going to have a jammer with all the running around it does and trying to kill our cat. Oh, and my brother-in-law had a dog called "Sooner" The dog got its name because the dog would "sooner" crap on the carpet than go outside. Haaaaa, love the dog name Guapa...great idea!!

Haha... Sooner is a good fit! I used to call Tammy "puddles" when she was a puppy for a similar reason. And your poor cat! lol

So I'm not the only one with extra dogs this weekend! I am now wishing I had a dog named Vern. What a fabulous name! I hope Tammy lives another ten healthy years. These are great shots. I know how difficult it is to photograph animals!

Tammy isn't likely to last too much longer. She's already 16+ human y ears old, and her hips are giving out.

Ha! I'm planning on getting a dog and naming her "Guapa," when I have a place of my own. That way, I can yell "Pretty girl!" in Spanish at the dog park :-)

That's very sad about Tammy. I wholeheartedly approve of Guapa, though. That is absolutely hilarious! Now my brain is spinning trying to come up with equally funny names. That will keep me entertained all day.

Posted using Partiko Android

If a dog is always biting all the sticks he can find, does he like sticks or hate them?

Howdy sir fotosdenada! hey those are such great shots of those dogs, even without their cooperation. The special homemade diet is very interesting too.

Thanks! The home-made food was a bit more work, since my sister has to cook it and it's soft. You have to keep the dog dish clean and soft food is hard on their teeth. There's dog toothpaste, though, so she gets that to help prevent further tooth decay.

Howdy sir fotosdenada! is soft food hard on all dog's teeth or just that one?

Nice happy looking dogs, they obviously love having you around to play with.lol

They're fun, for the most part. The older dog's issues make her a handful, at times, but she's good.

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Bet your folks will love having these wonderful portraits of their dogs! Nicely done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62