Procrastination On Ice (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy!

With a video to make for one class and a capstone project that needs a lot of work, I should have been plugging away in my apartment. The sun was shining, though, and the temperatures were much nicer than they have been in a long while!

MM201920190310-EOS_9871.jpg
Old Man Winter's Teardrop

The first photo was taken with my best lens, which is very sharp. It doesn't focus very closely, though, so the next one was taken with a macro lens.

MM201920190310-EOS_9904.jpg
Tree Time

The trees still have little blobs of ice stuck here and there, from the weekend ice storm. With such shallow focus, the sun turns them into glowing dots (bokeh balls) in the background. Walking past, the sun glinting and lensing through the ice made them sparkle almost like gemstones.

MM201920190311-EOS_9955.jpg
Bokeh Balls

Here's a close-up of one of the ice blobs... and a bud! Spring is coming!

MM201920190311-EOS_9946.jpg
Signs of Spring

And, now that it's after 9:00 in the evening, it's time to get the video project done. Procrastination has its consequences. Tomorrow will be a tough day!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

You got a spoken OMG from the 1st photo and the second one was JUST as impressive!! Seriously cool! I'm sure others have asked, did you photoshop the tree into the reflection of the drop of the 2nd photo or is it natural? Love love your titles :)

If you get the focus perfect (not easy with my old camera) it uses the droplet as a mini lens. It took quite a few tries to get the focus right and the drop just before it fell. If you zoom in on the first photo, you can actually see the sunburst in the suspended drop.

The effect can be a lot of fun with other objects, too. A lot of people have been using glass balls, lately. One of my favorites is a very round wine glass filled with water.

MM201920190318-EOS_0018.jpg
A Glass of Scenery

This is the back yard of the place I'm renting in Mankato, or at least as it's seen upside-down and warped! :-)

That's beautiful!!! what is the glass stem in?
Dang, I missed some of your messages because I have been using Steemify on my phone app and it has gone dead! I did take photos in DR, but it's been crazy busy since I have been back because we are headed out again. (lame excuse because one can always make time :) This time to Australia :) Seems such a shame that I haven't been posting my photos :)
I have to say again, that is a seriously cool photo with the glass!!

Aussie land sounds like fun! There seem to be quite a few Steem people there. I want to se a ROO pic!

The wine class was poked into the snow. It was kind of warm and melty, so it packed into ice underneath and I couldn't get it quite perfectly level, but it's close. Ya know, one of those big, spherical fish bowls with a goldfish could make an amazing shot... Hrm...

Have fun down Australia!

Beautiful icy pictures. I continue to be hopeful that these will be some of the last for the season. Hope your video project turned out really well!

Thanks! Things are melting quickly, here, and the waterfalls are scary. I'm hoping to get some better photos today, but there's a lot of work to get through.

I think the video project turned out well. I saw there was another assignment due, so I was up late getting that done, too. I swear, figuring out what the assignments are and when to turn them in is much harder than actually completing them.

I've heard my daughter make that same complaint! She has tried all different methods to track when assignments are due, but I have not yet heard her say she has found a foolproof system!

I think we survived the big melt yesterday with no damage. I didn't even get any water on the floor of the garage.

These are some awesome photos! I love the name of the first one, very creative.

Thanks! Definitely paying the price today, but worth it.

Hey man, I like how you've caught the drops while falling in the first shot. But my favorite is the second especially when zoomed-in :)

That was actually a bit harder, since it was with the macro lens and I had to catch a fat drop just about to fall :-)

Great photos @fotosdenada unfortunately we don't get any snow at all in this part of Australia where we live.

Snow is pretty, but it's also problematic. I miss living in Spain, where I didn't have to shovel it or try to drive on top of it.

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Great photos! Man, that drop hanging down where you can see the reflection of the trees in it is remarkable! Good luck tomorrow!

Thanks! Focusing through droplets is fun, but a little tricky.

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Well that is probably a common thing for photographers but for me it was very unusual!

WOW those are fantastic shots love them all, the detail is amazing,I hope you managed to get the video project done on time

Thanks! I did get the video project done and then noticed another assignment also due at midnight! I managed to get them both done, but it was a late night.

Well you got awesome shots and your projects done so Kudos to you my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28