Snowy Bison Portraits (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy, folks!

It's been awhile (again), but I finally got some photos of the bison. Having a state park so close is a godsend, when the workload and stress start piling up. A ten minute drive and I can be out in nature, chatting with these furry giants. Okay, well they don't say much, but it's still a great stress reliever.

MM201920190211-EOS_9646.jpg
Pair of Pointies

This time, they were trying to escape! One of the park rangers was chipping ice out of the cattle gards that keep them from wandering off. Apparently, the ice had created a bridge across what is basically a grate, and one of the older bison was trying to cross.

MM201920190211-EOS_9621.jpg
Ice Cream Nose-ache

Frosty-Face eyed me up and down for quite awhile. That gave me plenty of time to snap a few really crisp images. You can actually see my Jeep reflected in her eyes in some of the shots!

MM201920190211-EOS_9634.jpg
Big Butt!

The yearlings are still much more spunky than their elders. I think the older one in this last shot was about to throw a fit. The younger bison kept butting heads and tring to shove her around. Kids these days!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

I love the second photo. It's like it would be saying: HUH?! What the hell are you doing here? I'm doing something important here (playing with snow) so get out! :D or another one could be DUH?! Yes, that's snow on my face :D

Oh, I just love the faces that animals can make. You don't really realize it while you're there but once you come home you can't stop laughing :)

Great photos, funny words! Well done!

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks!

Last summer, I got one of a bull that still makes me laugh every time I see it. They do strike some great poses sometimes!

Wow.......those are great photos @fotosdenada I love that snow covered face. Well Done!

Nice to see an update of the big woolies again. Superb photos, and I always love your comments. Give me a chortle. These beasts sure are impressive. Sound smarter than cows too. They used to paint yellow or white lines on the pavement for the cows in Idaho, to fool them into thinking they were cattleguards. I think the bison are a bit smarter than your average Hereford. I hope. There's only one way to go. (I probably just insulted a few ranchers. Sorry folks.) But they would just run in front of us for hours in the woods. Never got off the road. We stop, they stop. We go, they go. Faster, faster. Slower, slower. For hours on end. It was OK in the truck, but on a motorcycle, they'd just spray the road with digested grass, and make it a real hazard. Fun times. Maybe these guys are a bit smarter. And a WHOLE lot bigger. Do you shoot them from inside your vehicle? Or are you away from ramming speed junction with a fence, etc? Think I've asked you that before, but that was then, and this is now...(Mr. Memory)

Thanks! The bison definitely seem more intelligent than cattle, though they also seem a bit more lethargic. Some of that is probably because it's so cold out but, even in the summer, they don't like to move fast unless they have to.

The park ranger was worried the one trying to cross would go through the ice and break a leg.

Funny that the cows fall for the paint job. They're not really known for being the smartest creatures... lol

The state park has a quite large bison enclosure wit cattle guards on both ends, so I usually get photos from my vehicle. In the summer, I occasionally walk the fence and get some photos that way, too. You wouldn't want to be on foot near them, though. I've seen them try to skewer people through the fence who were trying to take selfies with the bison in the background. They were far enough away from the fence. One heck of a photo bomb!

Yes, THAT would be a priceless selfie! Love Love the bison shots you take. These ones, I always take the time to expand them :)

Thanks! Frosty-face was very cooperative.

Great photos.... Those big guys look good in the snow!

Howdy sir fotosdenada! These are all great shots man! Lol..frosty face, ice cream nose ache! lol. Great job sir. Very fun post and those animals are something else. How close did you get to them and how tall do you think they are?

They can look right in the window of my Jeep, so they're pretty big. They're a lot stalkier than cattle, too, so I'd say they probably weight at least a cow-and-a-half. How's that for using the metric system? lol

They actually get really close to the vehicles, sometimes. When I drove my truck through, last year, one was actually trying to lick the salt off my bumper!

haha! Those guys are really cool sir fotosdenada, I'm glad they're there. I just hope they don't every charge your jeep.

dışarda böyle bir manzarayla karşılaşmak biraz ürkütücü de olsa, uzaktan sevimli görünüyorlar:)
teşekkürler:)

Teşekkür ederim. Fotoğrafları arabamdan çektim, bu yüzden zor değildi. :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.
You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75