Spanish Views (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

It's been another busy week, but the end is in sight! As a result of two projects that needed a few photos, I have gone through my photos from Spain several times and exported a bunch. Many of you know that I lived in southern Spain for a time, as I have shared some photos of the region in the past.

MM201220120527IMG_2108.jpg
It's not Photoshop. It's just weird.

These first couple photos are from when I lived in Los Barrios. At the time, I was making do with a Canon point-and-shoot. While I much prefer the quality I can pull out of the DSLR I have now, I have to admit that the little Canon ELPH cameras do an admirable job!

Anyway... Doors like these are not uncommon sights in the area. They always struck mw as odd, though. Why not a gate? If I had the chance to go back, I might see if I could get permission to enter one of these, to set up a flash behind it and take some truly weird photos!

MM201220120520IMG_1918.jpg
Punctuation Tree

Another photo taken with the little Canon ELPH. This one looks like a sentence with an exclamation point to me. This is some of what remains of the castle atop the village of Jimena de la Frontera. Most of the castle lies in pieces, but a tower and portions of the wall are intact. The structure here was the main gate, back when the fortification served as a staging ground for the forces of the Reconquista.

MM201320131201EOS_7490.jpg
Hike With Care!

I'm not sure what the skull was in the days when it still housed a brain. This sign post is in an area known as the Subbética Cordobesa. A group of fellow teachers and I took a weekend trip to do some hiking and explore the area.

And speaking of Córdoba... Any of you recognize this bridge?

MM201420140228EOS_8906.jpg

I'd love to get back and take some more photos, but it seems like an impossible goal at this point. Maybe someday. I'll finish this masters degree, if all goes well, this May. Then, perhaps, opportunity will knock...

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Too fun! I immediately thought that door was photoshopped and had a good chuckle reading the title on the photo! Great photos!!

Thanks! Yeah, I'm not sure why they use those kind of doors in exterior walls like that. One would expect to see a gate or something a little more fitting...

Beautiful scenes. I don't watch GofT either but I suspect that bridge has been there for awhile! I hope you are able to go back. It's pretty obvious how much you love it there.

It's called "Puente Romano" or Roman Bridge. From what I can tell, the thing was built and rebuilt several times by Romans, Moors, Berbers, and Spanish inhabitants of the city. Córdoba is fascinating. They are still discovering ruins there. When I visited in 2014, they were even conducting an excavation under the bus station. They had windows, so you could see the work.

I saw some of that happening in Greece, particularly in Athens. It makes you realize that every inch of soil probably has some historical significance!

Amazing images @fotosdenada I particularly love that one of that bridge framing the scene with people crossing the canal and the magnificent old buildings in the background.

You have your priorities all sorted at them moment and once your studies are done you will then be able to plan some travel I hope. A great post!

Thanks! That bridge in Córdoba was apparently used In Game of Thrones. It's a beautiful city, but I brutally hot in the summer.

I haven't seen Game of Thrones but I can just imagine that the scenery in your blog would be awesome for historical films.

What cool shot that door did make me smile, I wonder if they planned it like that or started building the fence and realized it was not the same height as the door so just beefed up that part

Thanks! Yeah, I don't know how that door came about. There are others like it in the area, though. It must have caught on!

It’s funny how something like this posibly a planning error become a craze and popular

Howdy sir fotosdenada! What is that bridge? I mean, obviously we should recognize it from a movie or something?
What happens when you finish your masters, hopefully a job in Spain?

Dear @fotosdenada

APPICS is a next-generation social media app that rewards you for posting pictures and videos online!

I'd like to invite you to our fully functional testnet for iOS and Android, where you can simply login with your steemit account and start getting rewarded for your passion .

If you are on iOS, please visit https://ios.appics.com and download the app from there. If you are on Android, please send us an email to [email protected] from your google play store email address so that we can invite you exclusively!

Team APPICS

Visit our Website: https://appics.com/

Join us on Telegram: https://t.me/appics_official

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33