Stick or Bug? (Original Macro Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

Howdy!

This little critter was brought to my attention today. With my vision, I would never have noticed it, camouflaged as it was. Of course, knowing it was there gave me the opportunity to do a photo shoot!

It's also a my contribution to #macromonday.

MNM18080620180806-EOS_5755.jpg
Walking Stick Pose

Walking sticks are slow, but this one turned out to be quite spry! At one point, it decided my camera lens was a hungry, gaping maw, and took off up the tree trunk. Eventually, I was able to get a few more shots.

MNM18080620180806-EOS_5756.jpg
"I See You!"
In this shot, it is pointing to the left of the frame. I rotated it to landscape, as looking at the image naturally (vertical) seemed a little odd. Those are some seriously long antennae!

MNM18080620180806-EOS_5749.jpg
Do they pick up Jazz FM?
When I was a kid, I remember seeing at least one of these every year. They're native insects to the area, but it has been almost a decade since I've come across one. Granted, that may be partly due to problems with my eyesight.

MNM18080620180806-EOS_5742.jpg
Portrait of a Stick
And, lastly... The first image I took turned out not to be the head, as I had anticipated, but the other end. So, why not share a photo of a walking stick's back cheeks?

MNM18080620180806-EOS_5729.jpg
Eww! Bug Bum!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

Hooray! You macro’ed a stick bug!!!!Seriously cool and so glad you got the full curie, so well deserved!!

Thanks! I haven't seen one of these in years, so it was exciting :-)

I used to participate in these photo contest but given my limitations as a photogtapher, i used a camera phone and was never able to capture nature as you have. Hadn't known about stick insects till now and its amazing to see nature's work through your photos. Absolutely stunning photography.

Thank you. They're fascinating creatures, and really do blend into their surroundings well.

Yeah, in one of the photos it truly looks like a stick.

Stick insects are so cool, you got such greta shots of it

Thanks! I like the way they move... And those antennae are serious business.

Hi fotosdenada,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I've always thought that macro pictures are the best, or at least those where you need the most focus. But to be honest I never thought about taking macro shots with insects, not just that I'm not a friend with insects but also that they are so littleeee and you need so much patienceeeee and I'm not good at that. At all. Haha.
But I like to admire the beauty and someone's work and let me tell you that you did a great job!
The last picture with the backside of an insect really made me laugh, haha.

Thank you! For being an accident, it is a pretty well focused bug butt! :-) fortunately, he was a good sport about the photos, so it only took about 20 minutes. The biggest problem were the ravenous mosquitos.

Well, I can safely say that that is the closest view of a bugs bum bum I've ever had :)

These photos are incredible- you captured this little critter so beautifully - and those antennae are pretty awesome! I've never seen one of these little guys, but my sister used to keep stick insects- and they did this funny sideways funky dance thing... do these do the same?

Thanks for the share- and yay for the bug bum curie vote :)
E x

Thanks! This one didn't bust a move for me, but did scamper around a bit! They're so fragile looking, with those long, shiny legs.

I really need to do more research because in Colombia every one tells me that this type of insect are poisonous and dangerous, and that they kill horses.

I love the butt shot! I love bug butts and I cannot lie! Anatomy of strange creatures fascinates me, and I thank you for scratching that itch, while making me itchy all over! ;p

Haha :-) These guys are really large, for an insect, but spindly and fragile. As far as the insect kingdom goes, they're pretty benign.

Minnesota does have some poisonous critters, but not many. Most won't do much more than cause a lot of pain, unless their victim has an allergic reaction.

I should ask my Colombian friends about the insects there. Only one grew up near the jungle, though. I'm guessing that's where the wildlife gets a bit more diverse and interesting...

Indeed! Though 'jungle' is not the only part interesting! We are in cloud forests, and there are deserts, and all types of areas, and I assure you all are interesting ;p with many more and different critters than us up north (I'm from Wisconsin). Surely the wet tropics have the most, but just by not having winter there is so much more opportunity for life.

Ask them about matacaballos and see what they say! (thats the stick bug ;) And report back here on Steem please! It's one of the great still unsolved mysteries in my head!

Hahaha, will do. I will see them all next week, most likely, as we have a graduate teacher orientation / workshop. It should be... "fun." It's basically six hours of straight meetings for a week.

Chatting with the others will be enjoyable, though! They call me an "español," because I lived in Andalucía and speak like they do. :-)

Meetings are boring! Spanish people speak very goofy! Similarly with England and the US, we say that, you might have invented the language, but we in the 'new world' perfected it ;p

Cheers!

Hahaha... Well, if you get the chance, check out "Curso Dandalú" on YouTube. :-)

I'm clicking through! I'll click anything once ;p

So cool, haven't seen one of those things in ages! The one you rotated has some awesome detail and the bug bum shot is really interesting. I bet he can at least pick up some AM talk radio if there's too much static on the Jazz FM station!

Thanks! I wasn't initially going to include the butt shot, but hey... Nothing like a bug mooning the camera.

bug butt, sounds like a new altcoin.....to the m00n!

@fotosdenada wow! they are amazing.I havent observed like this very closely.You have shot them with perfection which must be really appreciated.keep sharing.

Getting things in focus is pretty difficult, with my old camera, but it still manages :-)

Very nice photos!!this insect is so bizarre!!!The photo of the head is my favorite photo. I can't stop thinking of the stick man children book from Julia Donaldson when i see your photos i guess it is because i never saw a real stick bug:)

Thanks! They are sort of strange-looking insects, but looking like a stick comes with some serious advantages. This walking stick was probably six inches long, including the antennae.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02